Share this article

print logo

15 village elections set for March 21

Mayors, trustees and justices will be on the ballot March 21 as elections are held in 15 villages in Erie and Niagara counties.

In Depew, residents turned out by the thousands in January to save their village from a merger with two towns, and this month they can return to the polls to vote for two trustees and a village justice.

Four candidates for trustee from two political parties are on the ballot in Depew, the biggest village in the two counties holding elections this month. They are Audrey A. Hamernik and Donald J. Jakubowski of the Renew Depew Party, and Mary Curr and Jules Pecora of the Preservation Party.

In Sloan, two trustee seats are open, one vacated by former trustee Thomas Ferrucci, who is running unopposed for mayor. Two candidates are on the ballot -- Barry Ping and Paul Zogaria of the People's Choice Party -- and a third is running as a write-in. Jennifer Kregg, whose petitions failed, will run as a write-in.

Several villages do not hold elections until later in the year.

Here's a list of the candidates running in villages elections on March 21.


Polls are open noon to 9 p.m. at Village Hall, 21 Main St.

Village trustee (vote for two)

Melissa Babiarz, Democratic

Paul Palizay, Democratic

E. Peter Forrestel II, Republican

Darrin Folger, Republican


Polls are open noon to 9 p.m. at Village Hall, 13336 Broadway.

Trustee (vote for three)

Theodore Mezydlo, Reform Party

Michael Green, Reform Party

Daniel Warmus, Accountability Party

Robert Overhoff, Independent Party


Polls are open noon to 9 p.m. at Village Hall, 41 Commercial St.


Howard Frawley, Hands On Party

Trustees (vote for two)

John Wilson, Hands On Party

Charles Katra, Hands On Party


Polls are open noon to 9 p.m. at Village Hall, 121 Miriam Ave.

Trustee (vote for two)

Kathy Seufert King, Democrat, Love of Blasdell Party

Rob Hefner, Democrat, Love of Blasdell Party


Daniel Grasso, Democrat


Polls are open noon to 9 p.m. at Village Hall, 8708 Main St.


Aaron Nellist, Transparency in Government Party

Trustees (vote for two)

Gregory P. Kerth, Better Government Party

R. James Baker, Transparency in Government Party


Polls are open noon to 9 p.m. at Village Hall, 85 Manitou St.

Trustee (vote for two)

Audrey A. Hamernik, Renew Depew Party

Donald J. Jakubowski, Renew Depew Party

Mary Curr, Preservation Party

Jules Pecora, Preservation Party

Village Justice

Gordon N. Willis, Renew Depew Party and Preservation Party

East Aurora

Polls are open noon to 9 p.m. at Village Hall, 571 Main St.

Trustee (vote for three)

Paul P. Porter, Positive Pedestrian Party

Steve Lazickas, Common Ground Party

Kristin Cameron, Planned Progress Party

Peter M. Mercurio, Good Change Party


Polls are open noon to 9 p.m. at the Farnham Volunteer Fire Hall, 526 Commercial St.


Elizabeth Huffnagle, Taxpayer Party


Polls are open noon to 9 p.m. at Village Hall, 27 E. Main St.


Samuel D. Castellano, Forward Party

David L. Smith, Gowanda on the Move Party

Trustee (vote for two)

Carol A. Sheibley, Allegiance Party

Jack T. Broyles, Public Rights Party

Paul M. Zimmerman, Open Door Party


Polls are open 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. at Village Hall, 100 Main St.


Mark C. DiPasquale, Hometown Party


Polls are open noon to 9 p.m. Voting for Districts 1, 2 and 3 at the Municipal Building, 5423 Broadway. Voting for Districts 4, 6 and 7 at the Lancaster Youth Building, 200 Oxford Ave. Voting for Districts 5 and 8 at Central Avenue School, 149 Central Ave.


William C. Schroeder, Citizens' Party

Trustee (elect two)

Paul M. Maute, Citizens' Party

Lynne T. Ruda, Citizens' Party


Paul T. Bumbalo, Citizens' Party

Orchard Park 

Polls are open noon to 9 p.m. in the Orchard Park Municipal Center, 4295 Buffalo St.


Jo Ann Litwin Clinton, Republican, Village First Party

Trustee, four-year term

William D. Reuter, Republican, Village First

Jonathan E. McNatty, Republican, Village First

Kevin M. Moran, Orchard Park Village Voice

Trustee, two-year term

Francis T. Hogenkamp, Republican, Village First

Mary M. Penn, Democrat


Polls are open noon to 9 p.m. in the Village Hall, 24 Main St.


Richard J. Westcott, Action Party

Jacob R. Froman, Citizens Unite

Trustees (vote for two)

Wayne B. Blumrick, Middleport 1st

Jeffrey G. Waters, Together We Stand

Renee M. Holly-Eberhard, Together We Stand

Diane C. Edwards, Village Party


Polls are open from noon to 9 p.m. at Sloan Fire Hall, 55 Gates St.


Thomas Ferrucci, People's Choice Party

Trustee (vote for two)

Barry Ping, People's Choice

Paul Zogaria, People's Choice


Polls are open noon to 9 p.m. at Village Hall, 375 Lake St.


Arthur D. Lawson Jr., Republican

Other villages 

In Kenmore, the largest village in Erie County, village elections are held in November on the state's general election day. In Williamsville, village elections will be held June 20 for two trustee seats. Candidates must file petitions by May 16 with the village administrator to get on the ballot.

Lewiston, Youngstown, Springville and North Collins do not hold village elections this year.

There are no comments - be the first to comment