Share this article

print logo

UB's Blake Hamilton makes 2nd-team all-MAC; Caruthers is all-D

University at Buffalo senior Blake Hamilton made second-team all-conference and Bulls sophomore Dontay Caruthers made the all-defensive team in awards handed out by the Mid-American Conference Monday.

Hamilton is the only UB player voted to the top 15 in the league. UB sophomore C.J. Massinburg was an honorable mention (top 20) selection.

The All-MAC first team includes Akron center Isaiah “Big Dog” Johnson, Central Michigan guard Marcus Keene, Kent State forward Jimmy Hall, Ohio guard Jaaron Simmons and Western Michigan guard Thomas Wilder.

Caruthers, a Rochester native, ranks second in the MAC in steals and eighth in the nation in steals per defensive possession played. He averages 22 minutes a game.

Leaving Hamilton off the first team could be viewed as a snub by UB fans because he’s one of the most versatile players in the conference. The senior “point-forward” from California ranks sixth in the MAC in scoring (17.5 ppg), 14th in rebounding (6.2 ppg), fifth in assists (4.5), 10th in free-throw percentage and 15th in three-pointers made. He’s second in assists in conference games. And he can defend four positions.

Hamilton was a third-team pick last season. Johnson is the best player on the best team in the MAC. He’s ninth in scoring and seventh in rebounding. Hall is fifth in scoring and third in rebounding. Keene leads the nation in scoring (29.6 ppg). He’s on the No. 11 team in the MAC and leads the nation in shot attempts. Simmons arguably is the best overall point guard in the league and is 13th in scoring and first in assists. Wilder is fourth in scoring, ninth in assists and tied for 15th in threes made.

Massinburg is UB’s second-leading scorer at 14.4 ppg. He’s 19th in scoring and 17th in rebounding in MAC games.

Here are the all-MAC selections:

All-MAC First Team

Isaiah Johnson, C, Akron

Marcus Keene, G, Central Michigan

Jimmy Hall, F, Kent State

Jaaron Simmons, G, Ohio

Thomas Wilder, G, Western Michigan

All-MAC Second Team

Kwan Cheatham Jr., F, Akron

Tayler Persons, G, Ball State

Blake Hamilton, Wing, Buffalo

James Thompson IV, F, Eastern Michigan

Steve Taylor Jr., F, Toledo

All-MAC Third Team

Franko House, F, Ball State

Braylon Rayson, G, Central Michigan

Marin Maric, C, Northern Illinois

Jon Williams, G, Toledo

Tucker Haymond, F, Western Michigan

All-MAC Honorable Mention

Antino Jackson, G, Akron

Zack Denny, G, Bowling Green

C.J. Massinburg, G, Buffalo

Michael Weathers, G, Miami

Jordan Dartis, G, Ohio

MAC All-Defensive Team

Tim Bond, G/F, Eastern Michigan

Zack Denny, G, Bowling Green

Deon Edwin, F, Kent State

Dontay Caruthers, G, Buffalo

Trey Moses, C, Ball State

MAC All-Freshman Team

Michael Weathers, G, Miami

Jason Carter, F, Ohio

Reggie Jones, G, Western Michigan

Dylan Frye, G, Bowling Green

Eugene German, G, Northern Illinois

There are no comments - be the first to comment