Share this article

print logo

Girls basketball: Wilson, Medina advance to final

Playoff action in the Section VI girls basketball playoffs continued throughout the area on Wednesday, and the two top seeds were eliminated in Class B-2 play.

No. 3 Wilson had to fight off a determined No. 2 Buffalo Arts team for a 60-58 win. Kayla Neumann had 26 points for the Lakewomen, who trailed by three points at the half.
“One of our bench players, Sarah Yousett, came in and hit a big free throw in the last few seconds to put us up by a bucket,” Wilson coach Brian Baker said.

Alexis Campbell had 26 points for Buffalo Arts.

Wilson will play No. 5 Medina, which knocked off top-seeded Olmsted, 41-31. The Owls had a 25-22 lead going into the fourth quarter, but the Mustangs found their scoring touch just in time. Je’ne Brown had 19 points to lead Medina, which scored 19 points in the final period to pull away.

That championship game will be held at Buffalo State at 6 p.m. Sunday, and it’s a matchup of two rivals from the Niagara-Orleans League. The teams split their two games in the regular season.

In Class C-2, No. 3 Frewsburg defeated second-seed Holland, 49-44. Olivia Lynn led the way with 26 points and 20 rebounds. The Bears advanced to the final at 2 on Saturday afternoon at Jamestown Community College. Frewsburg will play Randolph in that contest. The Cardinals had little trouble with Westfield, winning by a score of 61-30. Sydney Hvizdak had 17 points for Randolph. Frewsburg last won a title in 2013, while Randolph won the 2015 championship.

In Class D, top-seeded Franklinville won its game with Clymer by a score of 52-43. Allyson Haskell led the Panthers with 22 points. The Panthers will have to wait 24 hours to find out who it will play in Saturday’s final. Ellicottville takes on Panama at 8 p.m. Thursday at Jamestown CC in what should be an excellent matchup. While the Eagles have had an excellent season, the Panthers have won the last two Class D titles and played a tough schedule.

There are no comments - be the first to comment