Share this article

print logo

Orchard Park Symphony presents world premiere by David Finko

The Orchard Park Symphony is celebrating Presidents Day with a concert that spotlights America at 7:30 p.m. Feb. 17 in the Orchard Park High School auditorium (4040 Baker Road, Orchard Park).

Music Director David Rudge starts the concert with Bernstein's Overture to "West Side Story." Also on the program is the Symphony No. 2, "Mysterious Mountain," of Alan Hovhaness, the "Air" from the Serenade in E by Arthur Foote, and Four Dance Episodes from Copland's "Rodeo."

The centerpiece of the evening is a world premiere: a Concerto Grosso for Four Oboes by David Finko. The featured soloist will be Ann Fronckowiak on oboe, Paul Schlossman on oboe d'amore, Sipkje Pesnichak on English horn and Sarah Hamilton on bass oboe.

This is the Orchard Park Symphony's annual side-by-side concert. Playing along with the orchestra will be student musicians from the Southtowns Youth Orchestra, prepared by director William Staebell.

The tickets are $15 for adults, $10 for seniors and students in kindergarten through Grade 12 are admitted free.


Story topics:

There are no comments - be the first to comment