Share this article

print logo

Section VI Division I wrestling finals set

The matchups are set for the Section VI Division I championship matches, whose winners automatically advance to the New York State Public High Schools Athletic Association tournament later this month.

Quick primer:

At 113, old friends Justin McDougald of Niagara Wheatfield and Mitch Seaver of Lockport will meet again. Two weeks ago at the Section VI Dual Meet Team Championships, Seaver took an overtime decision. Last week, McDougald beat Seaver in overtime at Class AA Championship meet.

At 285, ECIC runner-up Sean Kloss of Clarence will face Lake Shore's Shaerod Rodgers, who was runner-up at 220 at ECICs but moved up to 285 for Class A Tournament and captured the title.

Here are the matchups with the finals expected to start around 6 p.m.

99 pounds: Jake Harry (Lancaster) vs. Aiden Rabideau (Clarence)

106: Parker Rozier (Lancaster) vs. Michael Snowden (Niagara Falls)

113: Justin McDougald (Niagara-Wheatfield) vs. Mitch Seaver (Lockport)

120: Dontay Gill (Lockport) vs. Matt Genau (Williamsville South)

126: Willie McDougald (Niagara Falls) vs. Ryan Hornstrom (Hamburg)

132: Warren McDougald (Niagara-Wheatfield) vs. Vinny Catanzaro (Williamsville North)

138: Cory Day (Iroquois) v. Ryam Stencel (Lancaster)

145: Connor Day (Iroquois) v. Josh Thibeault (Niagara-Wheatfield)

152: Steven Kapuscinski (Lockport) v. Shayne Falley (Lake Shore)

160: Dominic Crouse (Sweet Home) v. Dan Emblidge (Grand Island)

170: Jacob Smeader (Hamburg) v. Justin Kimble (West Seneca East)

182: Matt Cicco (NW) v. Joe Andreessen (Lancaster)

195: Lawrence Jenkins (Lake Shore) v. Dillon Knoll (Hamburg)

220: Mason Mastrangelo (Lancaster) v. Brad Straw (Sweet Home)

285: Shaerod Rodgers (Lake Shore) v. Sean Kloss (Clarence)

There are no comments - be the first to comment