Share this article

print logo

Bills announce 14 assistant coaches will not return in 2017

The Buffalo Bills' coaching staff is underdoing a total makeover.

The team announced Tuesday that 14 assistant coaches from Rex Ryan's staff will not be retained under new coach Sean McDermott.

The list includes: Bobby April (linebackers), Aaron Kromer (offensive line), David Lee (quarterbacks), D'Anton Lynn (defensive assistant), Tim McDonald (defensive backs), Pat Meyer (offensive assistant), Chris Palmer (senior offensive assistant), Ed Reed (assistant defensive backs), Eric Smith (special teams assistant), Kathryn Smith (quality control, special teams), Dennis Thurman (defensive coordinator), Jason Vrable (assistant quarterbacks) and Jeff Weeks (outside linebackers).

None of the departures come as a big surprise, although with McDermott retaining special teams coordinator Danny Crossman, it seemed like a possibility that Eric Smith and Kathryn Smith could return.

Tony Sparano (tight ends), Jason Rebrovich (defensive line) and Sanjay Lal (wide receivers) had previously left the staff for other positions, as did former offensive coordinator and interim head coach Anthony Lynn, who became the new head coach of the Los Angeles Chargers.

Replacements for those not being retained have already mostly been hired. McDermott's staff now looks like this: Rick Dennison (offensive coordinator), Leslie Frazier (defensive coordinator), Crossman (special teams coordinator), Juan Castillo (offensive line/run-game coordinator), Andrew Dees (assistant offensive line), Rob Boras (tight ends), Bob Babich (linebackers), Mike Waufle (defensive line), David Culley (quarterbacks) and Kelly Skipper (running backs). Openings remain at wide receivers -- although it's been reported Phil McGeoghan will be hired for that job -- as well as defensive backs, in addition to an undetermined number of assistant/quality-control positions.

There are no comments - be the first to comment