Share this article

print logo

Duplicate Bridge: Dec. 31

The Airport Bridge Club offers extra-point games at noon today, Saturday, Dec. 31; and next Saturday, Jan. 7; and every day at 11 a.m. from Monday, Jan. 2, to Friday, Jan. 6.

*  *  *

Congratulations to Ron Henrikson, who has been elected president of the Delaware Wednesday bridge club. Other officers include Bob Lederhouse, vice president; Sandy Marcussen, secretary; Anne O’Connor, treasurer; and Joyce Kindt, Jan O’Mara, Lance Pollack, Mike Taeger, Vince Taeger and Bill Rich, directors.

*  *  *

Western New York Unit 116 regularly sponsors special games. Currently they include:
Annual Picnic and Game – Sunday, Aug. 20. Rescue Fire Hall, 1241 Strad Ave., North Tonawanda.
Annual Meeting and Game – Saturday, Dec. 2. Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst.

*  *  *

Tournament calendar

Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Woods Blvd., Independence, Ohio. Wednesday, Jan. 11, to Sunday, Jan. 15. For info, click this link.
Buffalo Winter Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Jan. 27, to Sunday, Jan. 29. For info, click this link.
St. Catharines Sectional – Holiday Inn & Suites Parkway Convention Centre, 327 Ontario St., St. Catharines, Ont. Friday, Feb. 10, to Sunday, Feb. 12. For info, click this link.
Toronto Easter Regional – Sheraton Toronto Centre, 123 Queen St. West, Toronto, Ont. Tuesday, April 11, to Sunday, April 16.
Buffalo Spring Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, April 21, to Sunday, April 23.
Upstate New York Regional – RIT Conference Center, 5257 W. Henrietta Road, West Henrietta (Rochester). Monday, May 1, to Sunday, May 7.
Cleveland All-American Regional – Embassy Suites, 5800 Rockside Woods Blvd., Independence, Ohio. Tuesday, May 23, to Monday, May 29. For info, click this link.
District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 12, to Sunday, June 18.
Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Hyatt Regency Pittsburgh Airport, 1111 Airport Blvd., Pittsburgh, Pa. Tuesday, Aug. 29, to Sunday, Sept. 4.
Buffalo Fall Sectional – Main-Transit Fire Hall, 6777 Main St., Amherst. Friday, Sept. 15, to Sunday, Sept. 17.
Buffalo Regional – Adam’s Mark Hotel, 120 Church St. Tuesday, Oct. 17, to Sunday, Oct. 22.
Niagara Falls Regional – Crowne Plaza Hotel, 5685 Falls Ave., Niagara Falls, Ont. Tuesday, Nov. 7, to Sunday, Nov. 12.
Finger Lakes Sectional – Location TBA, Waterloo. Saturday, Nov. 11, and Sunday, Nov. 12.
District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 4, to Sunday, Dec. 10.
Cleveland Rock and Roll Regional – Wednesday, Jan. 10, 2018, to Sunday, Jan. 14, 2018.
Buffalo Winter Sectional – Friday, Jan. 19, 2018, to Sunday, Jan. 21, 2018.
Toronto Easter Regional – Tuesday, March 27, 2018, to Sunday, April 1, 2018.
Buffalo Spring Sectional – Friday, April 13, 2018, to Sunday, April 15, 2018.
Rochester Spring Sectional – Saturday, April 28, 2018, and Sunday, April 29, 2018.
Cleveland All-American Regional – Tuesday, May 22, 2018, to Monday, May 28, 2018.
District 5 Spring Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, June 11, 2018, to Sunday, June 17, 2018.
Rochester Summer Sectional – Saturday, July 14, 2018, and Sunday, July 15, 2018.
Syracuse Regional – Monday, Aug. 13, 2018, to Sunday, Aug. 19, 2018.
Pittsburgh Labor Day Regional – Tuesday, Aug. 28, 2018, to Sunday, Sept. 3, 2018.
Buffalo Fall Sectional – Friday, Sept. 21, 2018, to Sunday, Sept. 23, 2018.
Rochester Fall Sectional – Saturday, Oct. 13, 2018, and Sunday, Oct. 14, 2018.
Buffalo Regional – Tuesday, Oct. 16, 2018, to Sunday, Oct. 21, 2018.
Finger Lakes Sectional – Saturday, Nov. 17, 2018, and Sunday, Nov. 18, 2018.
District 5 Winter Sectional Tournament at the Clubs (STaC) – At local ACBL-sanctioned bridge clubs. Monday, Dec. 3, 2018, to Sunday, Dec. 9, 2018.

*  *  *

Bridge club websites:

Click names for links.
Bridge Center of Buffalo.
Bridge Club Meridian.
Western New York Unit 116.

*  *  *

The Duplicate Bridge column is compiled weekly by News Staff Reporter Dale Anderson. The print version normally appears in the Life & Arts section in the Saturday edition of The Buffalo News.
If it’s not in its usual place, Google “Duplicate Bridge” plus the current Saturday date, which should bring up a link to it on the Buffalo News website.
Sometimes the online version does not materialize on the Buffalo News website, at least not in a timely fashion. When that happens, like it did a couple times recently, you can find it as an appendix to Dale Anderson’s bridge blog at http://newsdupli.blogspot.com/
The online version contains unabridged scores and a longer list of notices. Deadline for submission of scores and notices is Tuesday night.
Email danderson@buffnews.com or dahotwings@aol.com. Office phone is (716) 849-4420.

*  *  *

A Ruby Life Master since the ACBL created that new ranking at the beginning of 2016, Dale Anderson recently surpassed 2,100 master points. He blogs about his progress toward Gold Life Master (2,500 points) and other bridge adventures here.

*  *  *

Duplicate scores
Week of Dec. 19 to Dec. 25
ACBL Sanctioned Clubs

Airport Bridge Club Monday morning – One winner. A: Martin Pieterse and Art Matthies, 66.56%; Nancy Kessler and John Kirsits, 59.70%; Sandi England and Barbara Libby, 59.56%; B/C: Mary Terrana and Ron Henrikson, 50.69%.
Airport Bridge Club Monday afternoon – One winner. A/B: Ruth Wurster and Florence Boyd, 69.68%; Alex Miller and Paul Ganley, 57.85%
Airport Bridge Club Tuesday morning – North-south, A: Mike Ryan and Allen Beroza, 61.51%; B/C: Sandi England and Joyce Greenspan, 54.07%; east-west, A: Martin Pieterse and Ken Meier, 58.18%; B: Marilyn Sultz and Ross Markello, 562.58%; Paul Zittel and Chuck Schorr, 51.89%; C: Nancy Kessler and Wilson McClaren, 51.88%.
Airport Bridge Club Wednesday morning – Howell. A/B/C: Florence Boyd and Fenton Harrison, 60.19%.
Airport Bridge Club Wednesday evening – ACBL International Fund Game. Howell. Denise Slattery and Mike Ryan, 65.28%; Alan Greer and partner, 63.19%; B/C: Bob Sommerstein and Gene Nowatniak, 54.17%.
Airport Bridge Club Thursday morning – One winner. A: John Kirsits and Ken Meier, 63.41%; Vince Pesce and David Donaldson, 62.67%; Jerry Geiger and Allen Beroza, 57.42%; Judi Marshall and John Ziemer, 57%; B: Nancy Kessler and Ross Markello, 55.82%; C: Larry Abate and Bob Sommerstein, 52.51%.
Airport Bridge Club Friday morning – Howell. Dorothy and Larry Soong, 63%; Barbara Libby and Jerry Geiger, 55%; Allen Beroza and Ken Meier, 53%.
Airport Bridge Club Saturday afternoon – Howell. Nancy Wolstoncroft and Alan Greer, 71%; (tie) Cleveland Fleming and partner, Martha and John Welte, 60%.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Tuesday noon – Non-life masters. North-south A: Gene Nowatniak and John Stoffman, 65.77%; Natalie Abramson and Richard McGowan, 55.65%; B/C: John Bava and Ed Morgan, 55.36%; east-west A/B: Joel Brownstein and Sol Messinger, 57.14%; (tie) Marilyn Wortzman and Ruth Nowatniak, Patty and Henry Porter, 52.08%.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Wednesday morning – North-south A: Donna Steffan and Judy Padgug, 60.12%; B/C: Gene Nawotniak and Chip Kean, 53.57%; east-west A: Jay Levy and Bill Rushmore, 63.39%; B: Andrei and Tova Reinhorn, 56.85%; C: John Bava and Denise Slattery, 51.19%.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday noon – 0-750 game. North-south A: Jeff Oshlag and Pat Kilbury, 61.90%; B: Pat Haynes and Terry Camp, 60.12%; Agi Maisel and Andrei Reinhorn, 55.65%; C: Ed Morgan and Denise Slattery, 52.38%; east-west A: Mary Ball and Joyce Frayer, 71.13%; Jim McClure and Richard McGowan, 58.93%; B/C: Paul Ziebarth and Carol Neuhaus, 49.40%.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Thursday evening – One winner. A/B: Bill Rushmore and Art Morth, 60.65%; Bert Hargesheimer and Linda Burroughsford, 55.56%; C: Martha and John Welte, 52.31%.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Friday morning – North-south A: Jay Costello and Bud Seidenberg, 61.31%; B: Fred Yellen and Judy Padgug, 59.52%; C: Fran Kurtz and Sue Neubecker, 50.30%; east-west A: Gary Schmitt and Kathy Pollock, 65.77%; Dian Petrov and John Lyth, 59.82%; Tova Reinhorn and Stan Kozlowski, 57.74%; B: Mike Ryan and Laurie Foster, 52.98%; C: Andrei Reinhorn and Ed Drozen, 42.86%.
Bridge Center of Buffalo Sunday noon – One winner. A/B: Anne Watkins and Rivona Ehrenreich, 61.46%; Rajinder Puri and Bob Padgug, 60.42%; Barbara Libby and Tova Reinhorn, 59.38%; C: Howard and Laurie Foster, 55.73%.
Bridge Club of East Aurora Wednesday morning – (Tie) David Floyd and Jim Downing, Bob and Joan Ciszak, 54.17%; Dan Clark and Dave Larcom, 52.78%; Darcy Young and Bob Farwell, 50.69%.
Bridge Club Meridian Monday morning – North-south, A/B: Rita Sofia and Helen Panza, 55.59%; Ken Meier and Dorothy May, 54.09%; C: John Lyth and Fritz Schweiger, 53%; east-west, A/B: Donna Steffan and Fred Yellen, 63.64%; Mike Ryan and Art Morth, 57%; C: Andrei Reinhorn and Sue Neubecker, 44.36%.
Delaware Wednesday evening – North-south, Ron Henrikson and Ruth Wurster, 58%; Mike and Vince Taeger, 57%; east-west, Jack Cukierman and Art Morth, 60%; Marilyn Wortzman and Bob Lederhouse, 53%.
Lockport Duplicate Bridge Tuesday evening – North-south, Miriam Regnet and Elve Johnston, 64.17%; B: James and Paula Jones, 61.67%; C: Paul Capen and Jean Rosenthal, 42.92%; east-west, A: Madhav and Beena Deshmukh, 61.25%; B/C: James Lanzo and Eugene Giorgini, 56.25%.
Other clubs
ABA Humboldt Bridge Club Tuesday evening – Howell. Diana Brown and Pearl Harris, 62%; Shirley Thompson and David Mathis, 50%.
Amherst Senior Center Monday afternoon – North-south, Sam Grossman and Shirley Cassety, 66%; Jill and Bruce Brown, 63%; east-west, Ross Markello and Joe LaNasa, 56%;Herb Falk and Marv Feuerstein, 55%.
Amherst Senior Center Thursday morning – North-south, Shirley Cassety and Sam Grossman, 60%; Chuck Heimerl and Joe Huber, 52%; east-west, Marv Feuerstein and Fritz Schweiger, 65%; Jeff Peters and Karen Synor, 60%.
Canterbury Woods Duplicate Wednesday – North-south, Esther Greene and Ruth Lansing, 60.5%; Fred Nadel and Eleanor Murray, 52.6%; east-west, Bill Hambridge amd Sandy Recoon, 53.1%; Ruth Axelrod and Clarice Snitzer, 52.1%.
Clarence Senior Center – North-south, (tie) Dona Tepas and Marge McMillen, Ellen Lochead and Bill Rogers, 52%; east-west, Kathy Borcik and Bill Rogers, 70%.
Town of Tonawanda Senior Center Wednesday – North-south, Pat and Mike Weber, 78.4%; Mike Brown and Ron Fill, 60.9%; Ed and Dorothy Rupp, 54.2%; east-west, Kay Brinkman and Lou Lombardi, 64.6%; Ellen Errigo and Paul Morgante, 55.6%; Joanne Biondo and Julie Albert, 48%.

email: danderson@buffnews.com

There are no comments - be the first to comment