Share this article

print logo

A film-by-film guide to 'Star Wars'

“Episode I: The Phantom Menace” (1999)
Fans waited 16 years for this film and have spent just as many trying to forget it. Meet bratty 9-year-old slave Anakin Skywalker. Jedi Master Qui-Gon Jinn deems him the “chosen one” who will bring balance to the Force. And so begins Ani’s Jedi training.

“Episode II: Attack of the Clones” (2002)
Ten years later, a civil war is about to break out. Now a senator, Padme Amidala is under the protection of Obi-Wan Kenobi and his apprentice, Anakin, who has become a strapping, if sulky, young man. There’s death, a secret marriage – and the Dark Side is calling.

“Episode III: Revenge of the Sith” (2005)
Three years later, the Clone Wars are raging. Anakin, impatient to become a Jedi Master, is easily wooed by an attentive Senator Palpatine, he of sinister intentions. The angst-ridden Ani is shrouded in a darkness even Padme’s pregnancy may not lighten. Welcome, baby Luke and baby Leia.

“Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” (2016)
The first stand-alone “Star Wars” film is set between Episodes III and IV with a group of rebel fighters trying to steal the plans for the Death Star before it can be completed. Their actions take us right up to “Episode IV.”

“Episode IV: A New Hope” (1977)
The original. Farm boy Luke Skywalker yearns to join his friends in the Rebellion. He meets a grizzled old man named Ben Kenobi, two droids, a feisty Princess Leia, rogue pilot Han Solo and the ultimate man in black, Darth Vader. Let the adventure begin.

“Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back” (1980)
Luke starts his Jedi training with little green Master Yoda. Ever-impatient (sound familiar?), Luke is lured into a trap by Darth Vader, who has captured his friends. But what is Vader’s interest? Hello, Boba Fett.

“Episode VI: Return of the Jedi” (1983)
As his friends in the Rebel Alliance valiantly fight against the completion of a second Death Star, Luke becomes the prize for the Emperor and Darth Vader, who try to complete his turn to the Dark Side.

“Episode VII: The Force Awakens” (2015)
Thirty years later, the First Order has risen from the ashes of the Empire. The New Republic, lead by General Leia Organa, searches for Luke, the last of the Jedi. A spirited young girl named Rey and a troubled guy in black named Ren both seem uniquely attuned to the Force. Coincidence?

“Episode VIII: Untitled” (2017)
This is a spoiler-free zone. Besides – do you really trust all of these “leaked” scripts? Suffice to say, we’ll learn more about Rey’s origins, get some “clarity” on Kylo Ren and we’d better see a lot more of Luke Skywalker.

“Episode IX: Untitled” (2019)
This film is supposed to wrap up this trilogy, perhaps without an original character to be seen. We wouldn’t like that. Actor Mark Hamill may have let slip that we’ll see him.

“Untitled Han Solo” (2018)
A look at the early “scoundrel” days of young Han and his pal, Lando Calrissian. Could we see the card game where Lando lost the Millennium Falcon to Han? Pressure is on young stars Alden Ehrenreich (Han) and actor/musician Donald Glover (Lando), who have some big shoes to fill.

Untitled (2020)
This film has been confirmed, just not the subject. One thing is certain: Disney will have many angry fans if it’s not the much talked-about Boba Fett film.

There are no comments - be the first to comment