Share this article

print logo

Snowmobile trails set to open in Chautauqua County Wednesday

MAYVILLE – Chautauqua County’s 450 miles of snowmobile trails will open for the season Wednesday, weather permitting, County Executive Vince Horrigan announces. The trails, which are patrolled by the sheriff’s snowmobile division, attract more than 15,000 riders annually.

The trails are maintained by the county’s five snowmobile clubs, the Chautauqua Lake Snowmobile Club, the Cherry Creek Sno-Goers, the Ellery Sno-Cruisers, the Lake Effect Trailbreakers and the Sunset Drifters, along with landowners and volunteers.

Current trail conditions are available by calling toll-free (800) 242-4569. Interactive trail maps also are available on the websites of the snowmobile clubs.

Snowmobiles can be registered at the county’s three Department of Motor Vehicles offices in Dunkirk, Jamestown and Mayville. For information on hours and fees, call 753-4229 or visit the county clerk’s website at

There are no comments - be the first to comment