Share this article

print logo

Bills nominate Eric Wood for Walter Payton Man of the Year

For the second year in a row, center Eric Wood received the Bills' nomination for the NFL's Walter Payton Man of the Year award.

Bills players and coaches voted for Wood in a team meeting.

Wood has been a mainstay on the offensive line since being a first-round pick out of Louisville in 2009, starting all 104 career games. He is also active with community and charity events, raising nearly $400,000 for seriously ill, special needs and physically challenged children in Western New York through the Eric Wood Foundation, according to the team.

Wood has been on injured reserve since suffering a broken fibula during the Seattle game on Nov. 7.

Former Bill Arthur Moats received the Steelers' nomination for the award this year. Amherst native Rob Gronkowski earned the Patriots' nomination.

Past Bills nominees for the award include:

1999: Ruben Brown
2000: Marcellus Wiley
2001: Ruben Brown
2002: Ruben Brown
2003: Brian Moorman
2004: Drew Bledsoe
2005: London Fletcher
2006: London Fletcher
2007: Lee Evans
2008: Brian Moorman
2009: George Wilson
2010: Fred Jackson
2011: George Wilson
2012: Bryan Scott
2013: Arthur Moats
2014: Fred Jackson
2015: Eric Wood
2016: Eric Wood

There are no comments - be the first to comment