Share this article

print logo

UB's Schreck, Hodge earn 2nd team All-MAC honors

Two University at Buffalo football players won second-team honors and two won third-team honors and two on the third team in the Mid-American Conference’s post-season awards, released Wednesday.

UB senior tight end Mason Schreck and sophomore linebacker Khalil Hodge each were named to the second team. Bulls senior running back Jordan Johnson and sophomore center James O’Hagan were third-team picks. It’s the second time in three years UB did not have a first-team selection. Bulls tight end Matt Weiser was a first-teamer in 2015.

Western Michigan’s P.J. Fleck was named MAC coach of the year. His 13th-ranked Broncos stand 12-0. Western Michigan receiver Corey Davis was offensive player of the year. Ohio defensive end Tarell Basham was defensive player of the year.

Schreck had 59 catches for 651 yards and four touchdowns. His yardage total topped Weiser’s mark last year as the best ever for a UB tight end.

Hodge finished with 123 tackles, eighth most in UB history for a single season and second most in UB’s 18-season Football Bowl Subdivision era.

Johnson rushed for 1,040 yards on 200 carries for a 5.2-yards-per-carry average. He set a UB record with 282 yards against Akron. O’Hagan started every game at center for a second straight season.

There are no comments - be the first to comment