Share this article

print logo

Starting line (Oct. 27): This week’s racing

Sprint Cup

Event: Goody’s Fast Relief 500 (500 laps, 263 miles), Martinsville Speedway; Martinsville, Va.

TV: 1 p.m. Sunday, NBCSN (Radio: Motor Racing Network/SiriusXM Channel 90).

Then and now: Seventh race of the 10-race Chase for the Sprint Cup Championship playoffs, and the first race of the third round, known as Round of 8. ... Four drivers were eliminated from the Chase this past Sunday at Talladega, a race won by Joey Logano. Eliminated were Chase Elliott, Austin Dillon, Brad Keselowski and Martin Truex Jr. ... Remaining are Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano, Matt Kenseth, Denny Hamlin and Carl Edwards. ... All eight drivers will begin the third round tied at 4,000 points in a reset. ... The first six Chase winners have been Martin Truex Jr. (Chicagoland and Dover), Kevin Harvick (New Hampshire and Kansas), Jimmie Johnson (Charlotte) and Joey Logano (Talladega).


Event: The series is off for the second consecutive weekend. The schedule resumes on Nov. 5 at Texas Motor Speedway.

Then and now: Kyle Busch won the most recent race, at Kansas Speedway. Elliott Sadler finished second, followed by Daniel Suarez, Joey Logano and Kyle Larson. ... The next race will be the second race of the second round of the inaugural Xfinity Chase for the Championship. ... Winners in the Chase have been Elliott Sadler (Kentucky), Daniel Suarez (Dover), Joey Logano (Charlotte) and Kyle Busch (Kansas). ... There have been a number of reports recently that NASCAR officials are contemplating about whether to limit or eliminate Sprint Cup drivers from racing in the Xfinity Series or Camping World Truck Series starting in 2017. ... Elliott Sadler and Daniel Suarez are tied for the lead in the Xfinity point standings, followed by Blake Koch (-7), Justin Allgaier (-12), Erik Jones (-12), Ryan Reed (-14), Brendan Gaughan (-29) and Darrell Wallace Jr. (-30).


Event: Texas Roadhouse 200 (200 laps, 105.2 miles), Martinsville Speedway; Martinsville, Va.

TV: 1:30 p.m. Saturday, Fox Sports 1 (Radio: Motor Racing Network/SiriusXM Channel 90).

Then and now: After a two-week layoff, the series returned to action last weekend at Talladega Superspeedway. Former ARCA champion Grant Enfinger won from the pole to earn his first career win in NASCAR competition. ... Chase Elliott will make his first Truck Series race since 2013 this weekend at Martinsville, driving for team owner Carlos Contreras. Harrison Burton, son of former Sprint Cup driver and current NBC NASCAR analyst Jeff Burton, will also make his Truck Series debut, driving for Kyle Busch Motorsports. ... Two drivers were eliminated after Talladega from advancing to the Round of 6, the second round of the inaugural Truck Series Chase for the Championship: Daniel Hemric and John Hunter Nemechek. ... The Round of 6 begins with the points reset at 3,000 each.

Formula One

Event: Mexican Grand Prix, Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, Mexico City.

TV: Sunday, 7:30 p.m., NBCSN (tape delay).

Last Week: Lewis Hamilton won the U.S. Grand Prix at the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas for his seventh win of the season. He trails Nico Rosberg in the points standings, 331-305.


Event: Toyota NHRA Nationals, The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway; Las Vegas, Nev.

TV: Qualifying, 6-7 p.m. Friday, Fox Sports 1. Live final eliminations, 4-7 p.m. Sunday, Fox Sports 1.

Then and now: Only one race will remain after this week, the season-ending Auto Club Finals at Auto Club Raceway in Pomona, Calif., from Nov. 10-13. ... Winners at the most recent race, at Texas Motorplex nearly two weeks ago, were Antron Brown (Top Fuel), Matt Hagan (Funny Car), Drew Skillman (Pro Stock) and Eddie Krawiec (Pro Stock Motorcycle). ... Depending on how his top challengers perform, Brown needs to leave Las Vegas with between a 96- to 110-point lead to clinch his second consecutive Top Fuel crown and his third in the last five seasons. ... With five professional level drivers already eliminated from the Countdown (Richie Crampton and Clay Millican in Top Fuel, Alexis DeJoria in Funny Car, and five-time champ Jeg Coughlin and two-time defending champ Erica Enders in Pro Stock), it’s likely we’ll see perhaps another 20 or more drivers/riders potentially eliminated after Las Vegas. For example, just in Top Fuel, seven drivers would be eliminated if Brown clinches the championship. ... Standings after the first four Countdown races (only drivers that remain mathematically eligible) − Top Fuel: 1. Antron Brown; 2. Doug Kalitta (-150); 3. Shawn Langdon (-172). Funny Car: 1. Ron Capps; 2. Tommy Johnson Jr. (-64); 3. Matt Hagan (-88). Pro Stock: 1. Jason Line; 2. Greg Anderson (-26); 3. Vincent Nobile (-14).Pro Stock Motorcycle: 1. Eddie Krawiec; 2. Andrew Hines (-17); 3. Jerry Savoie (-49).

There are no comments - be the first to comment