Share this article

print logo

Starting Line (Oct. 6): This week’s racing

NASCAR Sprint Cup

Event: Bank of America 500 (334 laps, 501 miles), Charlotte Motor Speedway; Charlotte, N.C.

TV: 7 p.m. Saturday, NBC.

Then and now: This will be the fourth race of the 10-race Chase for the Sprint Cup Championship playoffs, in addition to being the first race of the second round of the Chase (known this year as the Round of 12). Four of this season’s original 16 Chase drivers were eliminated after this past Sunday’s race at Dover: Tony Stewart (in his final season of racing in NASCAR), teammates Kyle Larson and Jamie McMurray, and Chris Buescher. ... Joey Logano is the defending winner of this race, while Martin Truex Jr., who won Sunday at Dover (his third win in the last five races), won this spring’s Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte. ... The first three race winners in the Chase have been Martin Truex Jr. (Chicagoland), Kevin Harvick (New Hampshire) and Truex (Dover). ... All 12 remaining drivers are tied with 3,000 points apiece. Those 12 drivers are Truex, Brad Keselowski, Harvick, Kyle Busch, Kurt Busch, Matt Kenseth, Joey Logano, Chase Elliott, Denny Hamlin, Carl Edwards, Jimmie Johnson and Austin Dillon.


Event: Drive for the Cure 300, (200 laps, 300 miles), Charlotte Motor Speedway; Charlotte, N.C.

TV: 8 p.m. Friday, NBCSN.

Then and now: Austin Dillon is the defending winner of this race, while Denny Hamlin won there this past May. ... Final race of the first round of the inaugural Xfinity Chase for the Championship. Four drivers of the original field of 12 will be eliminated after Friday’s race. Drivers with the greatest risk of being eliminated are ninth through 12th heading into the race: Ty Dillon, Erik Jones, Ryan Sieg and Brandon Jones. ... Erik Jones is hoping to advance so he could potentially win his second consecutive championship, having done so last season in the Camping World Truck Series. ... Elliott Sadler won the first race of the Xfinity Chase two weeks ago at Kentucky Speedway, while Suarez won last weekend at Dover. ... With his win, Suarez moved past Sadler and into the top spot of the Xfinity Series point standings.

Camping World Truck

Event: The series is off this weekend. It resumes racing Oct. 22 at Talladega.


Then and now: Tyler Reddick, who did not qualify for the inaugural Camping World Truck Series Chase, didn’t let that stop him from winning last Saturday’s DC Solar 350 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. ... Reddick joins rookie William Byron (New Hampshire) as the first two race winners of the Truck Series’ first-ever Chase (although Reddick is not eligible to win the championship). ... Byron has dominated this season with six wins in 18 races. ... Byron maintained the series lead after Las Vegas. Christopher Bell is second (-18).


2016 season has concluded.

Then and now: Simon Pagenaud received his $1 million championship winner’s prize, as well as the Astor Cup championship trophy and the ceremonial champion’s ring in a ceremony Tuesday night in Indianapolis. Other award winners or honorees included: Championship driver (Astor Challenge Cup): Simon Pagenaud; Jostens Championship Driver Award (ring): Simon Pagenaud; Championship team (Astor Challenge Cup): Team Penske; Championship team sponsors: Menards, PPG Automotive Refinish, Hewlett Packard Enterprise; Championship team manager: Jon Bouslog.

Formula One

Event: Emirates Japanese Grand Prix, Suzuka.

TV: Early Sunday, 12:30 a.m., NBCSN.

Last Event: Daniel Ricciardo became just the second driver to win a race this year not named Nico Rosberg or Lewis Hamilton. He won the Malaysia Grand Prix Sunday.

NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing

Event: The series is off this weekend. It resumes next weekend in Ennis, Texas.

Then and now: The NHRA’s six-race Countdown to the Championship is at the midpoint ... Antron Brown (Top Fuel), Tommy Johnson Jr. (Funny Car), Vincent Nobile (Pro Stock) and Eddie Krawiec (Pro Stock Motorcycle) were the winners at Maple Grove. ... Standings after the first two Countdown races: Top Fuel: 1. Antron Brown; 2. Doug Kalitta (-77); 3. Brittany Force (-118). Funny Car: 1. Ron Capps; 2. Tommy Johnson Jr. (-24); 3. Jack Beckman (-93). Pro Stock: 1. Jason Line; 2. Greg Anderson (-45); 3. Vincent Nobile (-83). Pro Stock Motorcycle: 1. Andrew Hines; 2. Eddie Krawiec (-38); 3. Angelle Sampey (-52).

There are no comments - be the first to comment