Share this article

print logo

Forster re-elected as Niagara Democratic chief

NIAGARA FALLS – Nicholas J. Forster was unanimously re-elected Niagara County Democratic Committee chairman at the party’s reorganizational meeting Monday.

It’s a record sixth two-year term for Forster, who was chairman from 1995 to 2001 and made a comeback in 2012.

“After this November’s election, the sheriff, district attorney and county treasurer will all be affiliated Democrats,” Forster said. He said the Democrats last year gained one seat in the County Legislature, elected a Democratic supervisor in the Town of Niagara and this year will elect a Democratic highway superintendent in Lewiston. The committee also reappointed Lora A. Allen the county’s Democratic election commissioner.

In the City of Lockport, the local Democratic committee chose Roger L. Sherrie, who lost the mayoral election last year, as the new city chairman. He succeeds Alderwoman Anita Mullane, who took over when Edward W. Tracy resigned earlier this year. Mullane will be second vice chairwoman, while Barbara A. Parker will be first vice chairwoman.

There are no comments - be the first to comment