Share this article

print logo

Starting line / This week’s racing

NASCAR Sprint Cup

Event: Bad Boy Off Road 300 (301 laps, 318.5 miles), New Hampshire Motor Speedway; Loudon, N.H.

TV: Sunday, 2 p.m., NBCSN.

Then and now: This will be the 44th Sprint Cup race held at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. It will also be the second race of the 10-race Chase for the Sprint Cup Championship playoffs. Matt Kenseth has won the last two races at NHMS – last year’s Chase race and this July’s race there. … Martin Truex Jr. kicked off the Chase with a win in the opening race at Chicagoland Speedway last Sunday. It was Truex’s third win of the season thus far, and he took over the lead in the Sprint Cup point standings. He holds a one-point edge over Brad Keselowski.


Event: 300, (200 laps, 300 miles), Kentucky Speedway; Sparta, Ky.

TV: Saturday, 8 p.m., NBCSN.

Then and now: Saturday will mark the 21st time the Xfinity Series has raced at Kentucky Speedway. Ryan Blaney is the defending winner of this race, while Kyle Busch won there earlier this year in July. … Saturday’s race will also mark the start of the inaugural Chase for the Championship in the Xfinity Series. … Erik Jones won last Saturday’s Xfinity Series race at Chicagoland. By winning that race, Jones becomes the No. 1 seed in the 12-driver Chase field. The other 11 drivers and the number of points they are behind Jones heading into Saturday’s race are Elliott Sadler (-6), Daniel Suarez (-9), and the remaining nine drivers are all 12 points behind Jones.

Camping World Truck

Event: UNOH 175 (175 laps, 185.2 miles), New Hampshire Motor Speedway; Loudon, N.H.

TV: Saturday, 1 p.m., Fox Sports 1.

Then and now: This will be the 19th Truck Series race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. Austin Dillon is the defending winner. … Kyle Busch has won three of the last five Truck races at NHMS. … Saturday’s race will mark the inaugural event of the seven-race Truck Series’ Chase for the Championship format. Eight drivers will make up the Chase field: Points leader William Byron, Matt Crafton (-9), John Hunter Nemechek (-9), Christopher Bell (-12), Johnny Sauter (-12), Ben Kennedy (-12), Daniel Hemric (-15) and Timothy Peters (-15). … Kyle Busch won the last regular-season Truck Series race last Friday at Chicagoland Speedway.

Verizon IndyCar

Then and now: The IndyCar season wrapped up Sunday at Sonoma Raceway. Simon Pagenaud won both the race and his first career IndyCar championship. It was his fifth win in the 16-race season, with all five triumphs coming on four road courses and one temporary street course. … Will Power finished second in the championship battle, followed by Helio Castroneves, giving Team Penske a 1-2-3 finish in the company’s 50th year of racing. … 2012 series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay has re-signed through 2020 with Andretti Autosport and with primary sponsor DHL Express. … There have been numerous unconfirmed reports in recent days that Josef Newgarden will be joining Team Penske in 2017, replacing Juan Pablo Montoya. Ironically, Montoya could potentially replace Newgarden at Ed Carpenter Racing. There also have been reports that Montoya may remain with Team Penske, but will shift to a full-time ride for the organization in the IMSA Sports Car series.

Formula One

Next event: Petronas Malaysia Grand Prix, Kuala Lumpur.

Last event: Nico Rosberg won his third straight race when he took the Singapore Grand Prix Sunday. He now leads Lewis Hamilton in the points race, 273-265.

NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing

Event: AAA Insurance Midwest Nationals, Gateway Motorsports Park; Madison, Ill.

TV: Sunday, 2 p.m.-5 p.m., Fox Sports 1.

Then and now: The NHRA’s six-race Countdown to the Championship got underway last weekend at zMAX Dragway in suburban Charlotte, N.C. Winners of the four pro categories were: Antron Brown (Top Fuel), John Force (Funny Car), Jason Line (Pro Stock) and Chip Ellis (Pro Stock Motorcycle). Of note, it was Brown’s second consecutive win in the Countdown opener. Also, Force, who has won a record 16 Funny Car championships, earned a record 146th Funny Car win of his career. Also, Ellis won his seventh career PSM race but the first since 2008. … Also of note, two-time defending Pro Stock champion Erica Enders suffered a major setback to potentially earning a third straight championship this season when she failed to qualify for Sunday’s final eliminations. Enders is now essentially in a must-win situation for the remaining five races – and that still might not be enough, given how far back she now is in the points.

Western New York

Lancaster National: IHRA Drag Racing, Off Week; Stock Cars-Championship Night, Thursday, 7 p.m.; U.S. Open Weekend, Friday-Sunday.

Ransomville Speedway: “King of The Hill”, Sportsman/Street Stocks Twin 100s, Friday, 7:15 p.m.

Genesee Speedway: Demolition Derby and Enduro, Saturday, 6 p.m.

Empire Dragway: IHRA Drag Racing, Saturday, 3 p.m. Wilcox Memorial, Sunday, 1 p.m.

Humberstone Speedway: Eve of Destruction, Sunday, Noon.

Wyoming County: Off Week.

There are no comments - be the first to comment