Share this article

print logo

Starting line (Aug. 18): This week’s racing

Sprint Cup

Event: Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race (500 laps, 266.5 miles), Bristol Motor Speedway, Bristol, Tenn.

TV: Saturday, 8 p.m. − NBCSN.

Then and now: This will be the 112th Sprint Cup race at Bristol Motor Speedway. Joey Logano won the last two summer night races there. Carl Edwards won in this year’s spring race at Bristol. … Denny Hamlin won the most recent Sprint Cup race, two weeks ago at Watkins Glen International. It was Hamlin’s first career road-course win. … There is no update on the condition of Dale Earnhardt Jr., who missed the last four races and remains sidelined due to concussion-like symptoms. … Brad Keselowski (727 points) took over the Sprint Cup points lead after Watkins Glen. Kevin Harvick (718) is second, followed by Kurt Busch (689), Kyle Busch (670), Edwards (653), Logano (652), Hamlin (620), Martin Truex (612), Matt Kenseth (600) and Jimmie Johnson (578).


Event: Food City 300 (300 laps, 159.9 miles), Bristol Motor Speedway, Bristol, Tenn.

TV: Friday, 7:30 p.m. − USA Network.

Then and now: Kyle Busch won a record eighth time in this race last year, while Erik Jones won this year’s spring race. … Justin Marks won last Saturday’s Mid-Ohio Challenge at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. It was Marks’ first career Xfinity Series win. … Elliott Sadler (700 points) remains No. 1 in the Xfinity Series standings. Daniel Suarez (675) is second, followed by Ty Dillon (667), Jones (648), Justin Allgaier (646), Brendan Gaughan (631), Brennan Poole (618), Brandon Jones (595), Darrell Wallace Jr. (539) and Ryan Reed (526).

Camping World Truck

Event: The UNOH 200 (200 laps, 106.6 miles) was to run Wednesday night at Bristol Motor Speedway, Bristol, Tenn.

Then and now: There had been seven winners this season going into Bristol: Johnny Sauter (Daytona), John Hunter Nemechek (Atlanta), Busch (Martinsville), William Byron (Kansas, Michigan, Iowa, Kentucky and Pocono), Matt Crafton (Dover, Charlotte), Christopher Bell (Gateway) and Kyle Larson (Eldora).

Verizon IndyCar

Event: ABC Supply 500 (250 laps, 500 miles), Pocono Raceway, Long Pond, Pa.

TV: Sunday, 3 p.m. − NBCSN (Radio: IndyCar Radio Network).

Then and now: Points leader Simon Pagenaud won his fourth race of the season in the most recent race on July 31 in the Honda Indy 200. Will Power finished second, followed by Carlos Munoz in third. … Even though Pagenaud won at Mid-Ohio, Power remains the hottest driver in the series. Power has won three of the last five races, and he finished runner-up in the other two. … There are four races remaining on the 16-race schedule (Pocono, Texas, Watkins Glen and Sonoma). … Pagenaud (484 points) continues to lead the standings, followed by Power (426), Helio Castroneves (373), Josef Newgarden (364) and defending series champ Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan, tied for fifth with 357 each.

Formula One

Next Event: Belgian Grand Prix, Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Sunday, Aug. 28.

Then and now: In the last F1 race on July 31, Lewis Hamilton took his fourth checkered flag in a row at the German Grand Prix. He leads Nico Rosberg in the points standings, 217-198.

NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing

Event: Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals, Brainerd International Raceway, Brainerd, Minn.

TV: Sunday, 2-5 p.m. – Fox Sports 1.

Then and now: Rain prevented the final round of eliminations to determine the race winners in Top Fuel, Funny Car and Pro Stock two weeks ago in Seattle. As a result, the final round for both Top Fuel (Antron Brown vs. Steve Torrence) and Funny Car (Del Worsham vs. Ron Capps) will be contested Friday at Brainerd. Pro Stock, meanwhile, will have its final round held to start the U.S. Nationals in Indianapolis on Labor Day weekend (Vincent Nobile vs. Aaron Strong, appearing in just the ninth race of his career). … The races in Brainerd and Indianapolis are the last two before the start of the Countdown to the Championship. … Brown remains No. 1 in Top Fuel (1,301 points), followed by Doug Kalitta (1,201) and Torrence (1,177). … In Funny Car, Capps (1,313 points) remains No. 1, followed by Courtney Force (1,124) and Jack Beckman (1,088). … In Pro Stock, Jason Line (1,659) regained the points lead at Seattle. He is followed by teammates Greg Anderson (1,629 points) and Bo Butner (1,149). … In Pro Stock Motorcycle, Eddie Krawiec is No. 1 in the standings (824), followed by teammate and 2015 series champ Andrew Hines (735) and Angelle Sampey (595).

Western New York

Lancaster National: IHRA Drag Racing/Gasser Racing Series, Friday, 7 p.m.; Tommy Druar/Tony Jankowiak Memorial 110, Saturday, 5:30 p.m.

Holland Speedway: NASCAR Pro Charger Twins, Saturday, 6 p.m.

Ransomville Speedway: Racing, Friday, 7:15 p.m.

Freedom Motorsports Park: $1,000-to-win Bellinger Electric Sportsman Special, Friday, 7:30 p.m.

Genesee Speedway: 600 Micro Sprint Special, Saturday, 6 p.m.

Empire Dragway: IHRA Divisional, Friday-Sunday.

Merrittville Speedway: TUSA Mod Lites, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Humberstone Speedway: TUSA Mod Lites, Sunday, 6:30 p.m.

Stateline Speedway: Super Late Model Jim/Jean Scott 50, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Wyoming County: Off-Week, Saturday, 7 p.m.

There are no comments - be the first to comment