Share this article

print logo

Starting line (Aug. 11): This weekend’s auto racing, from NASCAR to local tracks

Sprint Cup

Event: No race this weekend. There will be 14 straight weeks of racing starting next week at Bristol Motor Speedway, highlighted by the 10-race Chase for the Sprint Cup.

Then and now: Denny Hamlin won last Sunday at Watkins Glen, his first career Sprint Cup win on a road course. He’s now won on every type of racetrack in NASCAR, including superspeedways such as Daytona, 1.5-mile tracks and short tracks. … Twelve drivers have won at least one race thus far in the first 22 races this season: Brad Keselowski (4 wins), Kyle Busch (4), Carl Edwards (2), Jimmie Johnson (2), Matt Kenseth (2), Denny Hamlin (2) and one win each by Kevin Harvick, Kurt Busch, Joey Logano, Martin Truex Jr., Tony Stewart and Chris Buescher. Only four races remain for drivers to qualify for the Chase. … Brad Keselowski (727 points) took over the Sprint Cup points lead, knocking former leader Kevin Harvick (718) to second. Then it’s Kurt Busch (689) followed by Kyle Busch (670), Carl Edwards (653), Joey Logano (652), Denny Hamlin (620), Martin Truex Jr. (612), Matt Kenseth (600) and Jimmie Johnson (578).


Event: Mid-Ohio Challenge (75 laps, 169.35 miles), Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course; Lexington, Ohio.

TV: Saturday, 3:30 p.m. - USA Network (Radio: Motor Racing Network/SiriusXM Channel 90).

Then and now: Second straight road course race on the schedule, following last Saturday’s race at Watkins Glen. … Regan Smith is the defending winner, while A.J. Allmendinger won the inaugural Xfinity race at Mid-Ohio in 2013 and Chris Buescher won in 2014. … Joey Logano won last Saturday’s Xfinity race at Watkins Glen, giving him three wins in a row in as many races at the twisting road course (Sprint Cup and Xfinity in 2015 and Xfinity in 2016). … Elliott Sadler (657 points) remains No. 1 in the Xfinity Series point standings. Daniel Suarez (657) is second, followed by Ty Dillon (629), Erik Jones (613), Justin Allgaier (610), Brendan Gaughan (598), Brennan Poole (587), Brandon Jones (573), Darrell Wallace Jr. (512) and Ryan Reed (496).

Truck Series

Event: Off until Aug. 17, at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Then and now: William Byron won the most recent race, two weeks ago: the Pocono Mountains 150 in dominating fashion, leading 44 of the scheduled 60 laps. It was Byron’s fifth Truck win in 2016. … Byron remains in the Truck Series points lead (319), followed by former champion Matt Crafton (294), Daniel Hemric (282), Timothy Peters (282) and Johnny Sauter (278).


Event: Off until Aug. 21, the ABC Supply 500 at Pocono Raceway.

Then and now: Points leader Simon Pagenaud won his fourth race of the season two weeks ago in the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in Lexington, Ohio. … Four race remain on the 16-race schedule (Pocono, Texas, Watkins Glen and Sonoma). … Simon Pagenaud (484) continues to lead the points standings, followed by Will Power (426), Helio Castroneves (373), Josef Newgarden (364) and defending series champ Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan, tied for fifth with 357 points each.


Event: Off until Aug. 19-21, at Brainerd, Minn.

Then and now: Rain prevented the final round of eliminations to determine the race winners in Top Fuel, Funny Car and Pro Stock at last Sunday’s Protect the Harvest NHRA Northwest Nationals in suburban Seattle, the final leg of the annual “Western Swing.” As a result, the final round for both Top Fuel (Antron Brown vs. Steve Torrence) and Funny Car (Del Worsham vs. Ron Capps) will be contested next weekend at Brainerd. Pro Stock, meanwhile, will have its final round held to start the U.S. Nationals in Indianapolis on Labor Day weekend (Vincent Nobile vs. Aaron Strong, appearing in just the ninth race of his career). … The races in Brainerd and Indianapolis are the last two before the start of the Countdown to the Championship. … Although the final round has not been decided, the points were updated for all racing through the first three rounds of eliminations at Seattle. Antron Brown remains No. 1 in Top Fuel (1,301 points), followed by Doug Kalitta (1,201),and Steve Torrence (1,177). … In Funny Car, Ron Capps (1,313 points) remains No. 1, followed by Courtney Force (1,124) and Jack Beckman (1,088). … In Pro Stock, Jason Line (1,659) regained the points lead, followed by teammates Greg Anderson (1,629) and Bo Butner (1,149) in third. … In Pro Stock Motorcycle, Eddie Krawiec is No. 1 in the standings (824 points), followed by teammate and 2015 series champ Andrew Hines (735) and Angelle Sampey (595).

Western New York

Lancaster National: IHRA Drag Racing Buffalo Superchargers, Friday, 7 p.m.; Can-Am TQ Midgets, Saturday, 6:30 p.m.

Holland Speedway: Hornet 50, Saturday, 6 p.m.

Ransomville Speedway: Autograph Night, Friday, 7:15 p.m.

Freedom Motorsports Park: NY6A Micro Sprints, Friday, 7:30 p.m.

Genesee Speedway: 360 Late Model Special, Saturday, 6 p.m.

Empire Dragway: IHRA Drag Racing, Saturday, 3 p.m.

Merrittville Speedway: 4-Cylinder Triple Crown #3, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Humberstone Speedway: Eve of Destruction Qualifier, Sunday, 6:30 p.m.

Stateline Speedway: Fan Appreciation/Autograph Night, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Wyoming County: Vintage Stock Cars, Saturday, 7 p.m.

There are no comments - be the first to comment