Share this article

print logo

Area talents set to participate in annual BCANY Summer Hoops Festival

The spirit of the Empire State Games still lives on in the form of the three-day BCANY Summer Hoops Festival.

The fifth annual event, which features the top scholastic boys and girls basketball stars from throughout the state, begins Friday in Johnson City near Binghamton. The Buffalo boys team will be coached by Amherst’s Chris Kensy, Maryvale’s Mark Kensy and Sweet Home’s Brandon Woods. The girls will be led by Michael McCarthy of Mount St. Mary, Nick O’Neal of Cardinal O’Hara and Ron Stepien of Sacred Heart.

Among those on the boys team include All-Western New York first-team picks Dominick Welch of Cheektowaga and Greg Dolan of Williamsville South. All-WNYers on the girls team include Anndea Zeigler of Cardinal O’Hara and Emma Brinker of East Aurora.

The boys face Nassau at 5:30 p.m. Friday at Johnson City Middle School. Buffalo plays twice on Saturday (noon versus Mid Hudson and 7 p.m. versus Southern Tier).

The girls team plays the first of its two games Friday at Johnson City Elementary School at 4 p.m. against Hudson Valley. Buffalo plays Southern Tier at 8:30 p.m. The Buffalo crew plays twice Saturday (10:30 a.m. versus Suffolk and 2:30 p.m. against Central New York).

Teams return to the court Sunday to play in games that will determine placing.

The entire tournament schedule can be found at the BCANY website.

The BCANY Summer Hoops Festival is a replacement for the basketball tournament that was part of the defunct Empire State Games.

Buffalo boys roster: Willard Anderson (East), Ray Blackwell (Maryvale), Tavien Kemp (Archbishop Walsh), Greg Dolan (Williamsville South), Da'Shawn Hines (Amherst), Daniel Scott (St. Joe’s), Ryan Bradley (Wilson), Marcellus Cooper (Amherst), Nick Montgomery (East Aurora), James Rojas (Jamestown), Dominick Welch (Cheektowaga), Joe Jones (Park).

Buffalo girls roster: Danielle Hore (Sacred Heart), Claire Wanzer (Amherst), Sara Pfeiffer (Olean), NicKelle O'Neil (Cardinal O’Hara), Kathryn Krchniak (Lockport), Anndea Zeigler (Cardinal O’Hara), Mallory Ashe (Mount Mercy), Sophie Snyder (Lake Shore), Tashawni Cornfield (Lake Shore), Emma Brinker (East Aurora), Tess Borgosz (Depew), Kathryn Price (Fredonia).

There are no comments - be the first to comment