Share this article

print logo

Startine line (July 28): This week’s national and local auto racing

NASCAR Sprint Cup

Event: Pennsylvania (160 laps, 400 miles), Pocono Raceway; Long Pond, Pa.

TV: Sunday, 1:30 p.m. NBCSN.

Then and now: This will be the 78th Sprint Cup race held at the track known as “The Tricky Triangle.” Matt Kenseth is the defending winner of this race, while Kurt Busch won last month’s late spring race at the 2.5-mile tri-oval. … Dale Earnhardt Jr., who won both races at Pocono in 2014, will miss his third consecutive race due to concussion-like symptoms. For the second consecutive race, Jeff Gordon will race in Earnhardt’s place in the No. 88 Chevrolet. Earnhardt’s status for next weekend’s race at Watkins Glen International remains questionable. Gordon could potentially fill in again, or the team could go with another driver. … Brad Keselowski was uninjured in a brutal wreck Tuesday while taking part in a NASCAR test at Watkins Glen International. … Kyle Busch swept last weekend’s racing action at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, capturing both the Xfinity Series race and the Combat Wounded Coalition 400 (aka Brickyard 400). Busch became the first NASCAR driver to sweep both weekend races at Indianapolis. … There have been 11 different drivers to win a race thus far in the first 20 races this season. Only six races remain for drivers to qualify for the 16-driver Chase for the Sprint Cup Championship field … Kevin Harvick (671 points) continues to lead the Sprint Cup point standings. Brad Keselowski (647) is second, followed by Kurt Busch (627), Joey Logano (606), Kyle Busch (601), Carl Edwards (593), Martin Truex Jr. (573), Jimmie Johnson (552), Matt Kenseth (545) and Denny Hamlin (542).


Event: U.S. Cellular 250 (250 laps, 218.75 miles), Iowa Speedway; Newton, Iowa.

TV: Saturday, 8 p.m., NBCSN.

Then and now: Saturday will mark the 14th time the Xfinity Series has raced at the .875-mile Iowa Speedway. Ryan Blaney won this race last year, while Sam Hornish Jr. won this season’s first of two races at Iowa on June 19. It was Hornish’s second win at Iowa in the last five races. Hornish was filling in for the injured Matt Tifft. … Kyle Busch has won the last two Xfinity Series races (New England two weeks ago and Indianapolis last weekend). He continues to extend his own Xfinity Series wins record, which is now 83. … Daniel Suarez (608 points) remains in the lead in the Xfinity Series point standings. Elliott Sadler (594) remains in second, followed by Ty Dillon (558), Justin Allgaier (542), Erik Jones (539), Brendan Gaughan (535), Brandon Jones (520), Brennan Poole (519), Darrell Wallace Jr. (486) and Ryan Reed (433).

Camping World Truck

Event: Pocono Mountains 150 (60 laps, 150 miles), Pocono Raceway; Long Pond, Pa.

TV: Saturday, 1 p.m., Fox Sports 1.

Then and now: This is the seventh time the Camping World Truck Series has raced at Pocono. … Kyle Busch is the defending winner of this race from last season. Other drivers that have won there are Elliott Sadler (2010), Kevin Harvick (2011), Joey Coulter (2012), Ryan Blaney (2013) and Austin Dillon (2014). … Kyle Larson may still be looking for his firs career Sprint Cup win, but he had no problem winning last Wednesday’s Truck race at Eldora Speedway in Ohio. …William Byron remains in the Truck Series points lead (282 points), followed by former champion Matt Crafton (273), Daniel Hemric (271), Johnny Sauter (253) and Timothy Peters (252).

Verizon IndyCar

Event: Hondy Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio (90 laps, 205.65 miles), Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course; Lexington, Ohio.

TV: Sunday, 2:45 p.m., CNBC.

Then and now: The series resumes after having last weekend off. This is the 10th time the series has visited Mid-Ohio, located about 50 miles north of the state capital of Columbus. … Graham Rahal, who grew up in the Buckeye State, won on his home track for the first time in his career in last year’s race. … Will Power comes into this race as the hottest driver in the series. With his win two weeks ago at Toronto, Power has now won three of the last four races (and was runner-up in the fourth race). … There are five more races remaining on the 16-race schedule (Mid-Ohio, Pocono, Texas, Watkins Glen and Sonoma).

Formula One

Event: German Grand Prix, Hockenheim, Germany.

TV: Sunday, 7:30 a.m., NBCSN.

Then and now: No German driver has ever won back-to-back Grands Prix on home soil - a streak Nico Rosberg can end this weekend, having triumphed when F1 last visited Germany in 2014.

NHRA Mello-Yellow Dag Racing

Event: Toyota Sonoma Nationals, Sonoma Raceway; Sonoma, Calif.

TV: Sunday, 7-10 p.m., FOX TV.

Then and now: The NHRA moves into the middle round of its “Western Swing” (Denver, Sonoma and Seattle) this weekend. Four races remain until the start of the Chase to the Countdown (other two races are Brainerd, Minnesota, and the biggest race of the year, the U.S. Nationals in Indianapolis on Labor Day Weekend. … Eight-time Top Fuel champ Tony Schumacher and 16-time Funny Car champ John Force emerged as winners at Denver last weekend, each driver earning his first respective win in over a year. In Pro Stock, Allen Johnson became the first driver to break the stranglehold of teammates Jason Line and Greg Anderson, who had combined to win each of the first 13 races of the season. Lastly, five-time and defending series champion Andrew Hines won the Pro Stock Motorcycle competition at Denver.

Western New York

Lancaster National: Sunday Nostalgia Drag Weekend, Friday-Sunday, consult for details.

Holland Speedway: George Decker Memorial 75, Saturday, 5 p.m.

Ransomville Speedway: Patriot Sprint Tour, Friday, 7:15 p.m.; Alex Friesen Summer Nationals 100, Tuesday 7:15 p.m.

Freedom Motorsports Park: Autograph Night, Friday, 7:30 p.m.

Genesee Speedway: $1,000-to-win Sportsman Special, Saturday, 6 p.m.

Empire Dragway: IHRA Drag Racing Terry Smiley Blaske Memorial, Saturday, 3 p.m.; One-Eighth Mile Drags, Sunday, 1 p.m.

Merrittville Speedway: Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series, Saturday, 7 p.m.; Bob St. Amand Sr. 100, Monday, 7 p.m.

Humberstone Speedway: All-Canadian Championships, Sunday, 6:30 p.m.

Stateline Speedway: RUSH Pro Mod Special, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Wyoming County: NAPA Soccer Day, Saturday, 7 p.m.

There are no comments - be the first to comment