Share this article

print logo

Bandits Troy Cordingley is finalist for coach of year

Buffalo Bandits coach Troy Cordingley is one of three finalists in the voting for the 2016 National Lacrosse League Coach of the Year (The Les Bartley Award). The other candidates are Glenn Clarke of the New England Black Wolves and Derek Keenan of the NLL champion Saskatchewan Rush.

Cordingley led Buffalo to the league’s top overall seed with a 13-5 record. The Bandits set a franchise record for wins (13), scored a league-high 251 goals and allowed 214 goals, the fourth-fewest in the NLL.

Cordingley played nine seasons in the league, winning two titles with the Buffalo Bandits in 1993 and 1996, before retiring in 2001. The 49-year-old won The Les Bartley Award twice, with the Calgary Roughnecks in 2009 and Toronto Rock in 2013.

The winner will be announced at the NLL Season Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, Sept. 27 in Toronto. The Tom Borrelli Award winner as Media Person of the Year also will be announced at that time. The award is named for the late Buffalo News sports writer, who died in 2008.