Share this article

print logo

Hall of Fame names, no-names fill the list of No. 8 picks in NHL Draft

The Sabres hold the No. 8 pick in the NHL Draft, though there's a chance they can trade it.

What type of player might they get an No. 8? Let history be your guide.

2015     Zach Werenski     Defense    Columbus Blue Jackets
2014     William Nylander     Forward    Toronto Maple Leafs
2013     Rasmus Ristolainen     Defense    Buffalo Sabres
2012     Derrick Pouliot     Defense    Pittsburgh Penguins
2011     Sean Couturier     Forward    Philadelphia Flyers
2010     Alexander Burmistrov     Forward    Atlanta Thrashers
2009     Scott Glennie     Forward    Dallas Stars
2008     Mikkel Boedker     Forward    Phoenix Coyotes
2007     Zach Hamill     Forward    Boston Bruins
2006     Peter Mueller     Forward    Phoenix Coyotes
2005     Devin Setoguchi     Forward    San Jose Sharks
2004     Alexandre Picard     Forward    Columbus Blue Jackets
2003     Braydon Coburn     Defense    Atlanta Thrashers
2002     Pierre-Marc Bouchard     Forward    Minnesota Wild
2001     Pascal Leclaire     Goalie    Columbus Blue Jackets
2000     Nikita Alexeev     Forward    Tampa Bay Lightning
1999     Taylor Pyatt     Forward    New York Islanders
1998     Mark Bell     Forward    Chicago Blackhawks
1997     Sergei Samsonov     Forward    Boston Bruins
1996     Johnathan Aitken     Defense    Boston Bruins
1995     Terry Ryan     Forward    Montreal Canadiens
1994     Jason Wiemer     Forward    Tampa Bay Lightning
1993     Niklas Sundstrom     Forward    New York Rangers
1992     Brandon Convery     Forward    Toronto Maple Leafs
1991     Richard Matvichuk     Defense    Minnesota North Stars
1990     Derian Hatcher     Defense    Minnesota North Stars
1989     Jason Herter     Defense    Vancouver Canucks
1988     Jeremy Roenick     Forward    Chicago Blackhawks
1987     Jimmy Waite     Goalie    Chicago Blackhawks
1986     Pat Elynuik     Forward    Winnipeg Jets
1985     Brent Fedyk     Forward    Detroit Red Wings
1984     Shayne Corson     Forward    Montreal Canadiens
1983     Andrew McBain     Forward    Winnipeg Jets
1982     Rocky Trottier     Forward    New Jersey Devils
1981     Grant Fuhr     Goalie    Edmonton Oilers
1980     Fred Arthur     Defense    Hartford Whalers
1979     Ray Bourque     Defense    Boston Bruins
1978     Dan Geoffrion     Forward    Montreal Canadiens
1977     Lucien DeBlois     Forward    New York Rangers
1976     David Shand     Defense    Atlanta Flames
1975     Richard Mulhern     Defense    Atlanta Flames
1974     Pierre Larouche     Forward    Pittsburgh Penguins
1973     Bob Gainey     Forward    Montreal Canadiens
1972     Dave Gardner     Forward    Montreal Canadiens
1971     Larry Wright     Forward    Philadelphia Flyers
1970     Darryl Sittler     Forward    Toronto Maple Leafs
1969     Andre Dupont     Defense    New York Rangers
1968     Lew Morrison     Forward    Philadelphia Flyers
1967     Elgin McCann     Forward    Montreal Canadiens
1966     Joey Johnston     Forward    New York Rangers
1965     Bob Birdsell     Forward    Detroit Red Wings
1964     Jim Booth     Forward    Boston Bruins
1963     Bill Cosburn     Unknown     Detroit Red Wings

There are no comments - be the first to comment