Share this article

print logo

Starting line (June 23)

NASCAR Sprint Cup

Event: Toyota/Save Mart (110 laps, 218.9 miles), Sonoma Raceway; Sonoma, Calif.

TV: 3 p.m. Sunday, Fox Sports 1.

Then and now: After a weekend off, the Sprint Cup Series resumes with the first of two road course races of the season. ... Joey Logano won the most recent race, the June 12 FireKeepers Casino 400 at Michigan International Speedway. Rookie Chase Elliott had a career-best second-place finish ... There have been seven different winners in the last seven races at Sonoma: Kasey Kahne (2009), Jimmie Johnson (2010), Kurt Busch (2011), Clint Bowyer (2012), Martin Truex Jr. (2013), Carl Edwards (2014) and Kyle Busch (2015). ... Sunday’s race will be the final telecast of the season for Fox Sports. NBC and NBCSN take over the remaining 20 race telecasts of the season starting with the Coke Zero 400 at Daytona on July 2. ... Kevin Harvick continues to lead the Sprint Cup point standings with 526 points.


Event: Off this weekend.

Then and now: Sam Hornish Jr. won last Sunday’s race at Iowa. It was Hornish’s first race since last year’s Sprint Cup season finale at Homestead-Miami. Hornish filled in for the injured Matt Tifft. It was Hornish’s second win at Iowa in three years. ... Winners of the first 14 Xfinity Series races this season have been Chase Elliott (Daytona), Kyle Busch (Atlanta, Las Vegas, Phoenix and Texas), Austin Dillon (Fontana), Erik Jones (Bristol and Dover), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Richmond), Elliott Sadler (Talladega), Denny Hamlin (Charlotte), Kyle Larson (Pocono), Daniel Suarez (Michigan) and Hornish (Iowa). ... Daniel Suarez (490 points) remains in the lead in the Xfinity Series point standings.


Event: Drivin’ For Lineman 200 (Speediatrics 200 (160 laps, 200 miles), Gateway Motorsports Park; Iowa Speedway; Madison, Ill.

TV: 8:30 p.m. Saturday, Fox Sports 1 (Radio: Motor Racing Network/SiriusXM Channel 90). Then and now: Cole Custer won last year’s race here. Darrell Wallace Jr. won here in 2014. There has been just one driver to win more than once at Gateway: Ted Musgrave, twice ... Rookie driver William Byron earned his second consecutive win and third of the season last weekend at Iowa Speedway. ... Winners this season have been Johnny Sauter (Daytona), John Hunter Nemechek (Atlanta), Kyle Busch (Martinsville), William Byron (Kansas, Michigan and Iowa) and Matt Crafton (Dover, Charlotte). ... Crafton remains atop the Truck point standings.


Event: Kohler Grand Prix (50 laps, 202.4 miles around a 4.048-mile, 14-turn road course), Road America; Elkhart Lake, Wisc. TV: 1:15 p.m. Sunday, NBCSN. Then and now: This will be the 26th Indy car race at Road America, the first since 2007. Sebastien Bourdais, who won that race (when the event was under Champ Car World Series sanction), will be in Sunday’s race field. ... The Firestone 600 race at Texas Motor Speedway, which was suspended on June 19 due to rain, will resume on Lap 72 on Saturday, August 27. James Hinchcliffe will be scored the leader, followed by Ryan Hunter-Reay and Mikhail Aleshin. The race will then complete its originally scheduled 248-lap distance ... provided rain doesn’t play a factor once again. ... Josef Newgarden, who suffered a fractured in his right hand in a wicked wreck on Lap 42 of the abbreviated race at Texas on June 19, is on the driver entry list for Sunday’s race. Newgarden was expected to miss several races, with journeyman driver J.R. Hildebrand slated to replace him, but it appears Newgarden won’t miss any races if he indeed competes in Sunday’s event. ... This season’s race winners are: Juan Pablo Montoya (St. Petersburg), Scott Dixon (Phoenix), Simon Pagenaud (Long Beach, Birmingham and Grand Prix of Indianapolis), Alexander Rossi (Indianapolis 500), Sebastien Bourdais (Belle Isle 1) and Will Power (Belle Isle 2). ... Simon Pagenaud (357 points) continues to maintain a commanding lead in the Verizon IndyCar Series points standings. Defending series champion Scott Dixon is second (277), followed by Helio Castroneves (271), Josef Newgarden (259), Indy 500 winner Alexander Rossi (242), Carlos Munoz (242), Will Power (240), Tony Kanaan (240), Juan Pablo Montoya (233) and Charlie Kimball.


Event: Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals, Summit Motorsports Park; Norwalk, Ohio. TV: Final eliminations, 11 a.m. Sunday (live) and again at 6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. (taped), Fox Sports 1. Then and now: The NHRA returns to Bristol Dragway’s Thunder Valley for this weekend’s event. ... Richie Crampton (Top Fuel), Matt Hagan (Funny Car) and Erica Enders (Pro Stock) are defending winners of this event. ... Last weekend’s winners at the NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals at Bristol Dragway in Bristol, Tennessee were Shawn Langdon (Top Fuel), Tommy Johnson Jr. (Funny Car) and Jason Line (Pro Stock), who won his sixth race of the season. ... In the NHRA point standings, Doug Kalitta leads Top Fuel (926 points), followed by 2015 series champ Antron Brown (873), Steve Torrence (846), Brittany Force (754) and Tony Schumacher (675). ... In Funny Car, Ron Capps leads (841 points), followed by Jack Beckman (786), Courtney Force (741), Matt Hagan (710) and 2015 Funny Car season champ Del Worsham (701). ... In Pro Stock, Jason Line continues to lead the standings (1,263 points), followed by teammate Greg Anderson (1,170), Bo Butner (758), Allen Johnson (668) and Drew Skillman (625). Defending two-time series champ Erica Enders (373) continues to struggle, dropping from 10th to 11th place after Bristol and is now a massive 825 points behind Line. ... In Pro Stock Motorcycle, Eddie Krawiec leads the standings with 436 points, followed by Jerry Savoie (310), Angelle Sampey (297), 2015 series champ Andrew Hines (290) and Chip Ellis is fifth (269) Western New York

Lancaster National: IHRA Drag Racing/Quick 16, Friday, 7 p.m.; Jeff Brown Sr. Street Stock Memorial 25, Saturday, 6:30 p.m.

Holland Speedway: Canadian Outlaw Midgets, Saturday, 6 p.m.

Ransomville Speedway: Racing, Friday, 7:15 p.m.

Freedom Motorsports Park: Dirt Track Stock Cars, Friday, 7:30 p.m.

Genesee Speedway: 360 Late Model Special, Saturday, 6 p.m.

Empire Dragway: IHRA Drag Racing/Empire Gassers, Saturday, 3 p.m.

Merrittville Speedway: Empire Super Sprints, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Humberstone Speedway: 602 Crate Sprints, Sunday, 6:30 p.m.

New Stateline Speedway: Patriot Sprint Tour, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Wyoming County: Kids Bike Race, Saturday, 7 p.m.