Share this article

print logo

Scenic byway expands into Ellicottville

The Western New York Southtowns Scenic Byway now extends into Cattaraugus County, with the addition of another 37 miles of roadway.

The byway incorporates sections of Routes 219, 240 and 242 in the towns of Ashford and Ellicottville and the Village of Ellicottville. It also passes through the towns of Aurora, Boston and Colden, forming a 108-mile scenic loop, said byway president Bob Lennartz.

“The purpose is to unite Erie and Cattaraugus counties and numerous towns and villages, into a regional attraction for tourists and the citizens of the area,” he said.

Lennartz and local and state officials attended the formal dedication of the byway at a ceremony at Holiday Valley Thursday. Legislation enacted last year allowed for the byway to be expanded into Cattaraugus County to promote tourism and economic growth.