Share this article

print logo

Starting line (May 5): This week’s racing

NASCAR Sprint Cup

Event: GoBowling 400 (267 laps, 400.5 miles), Kansas Speedway; Kansas City, Kansas. TV: Saturday, 7:30 p.m., Fox Sports 1.

Then and now: NASCAR returns to the Midwest with a Saturday night race under the lights at the 1.5-mile Kansas Speedway. … This will be the 21st NASCAR Sprint Cup race held at Kansas. … Jimmie Johnson is the defending champion, while Joey Logano won last fall’s Chase for the Sprint Cup race. Logano has won two of the last three Cup races at Kansas. It was at Kansas last fall that Logano wrecked Matt Kenseth, who retaliated three weeks later by wrecking Logano at Martinsville, ending Logano’s championship hopes while also earning a two-race suspension for Kenseth. … While Kansas Speedway is considered the “home track” for both Carl Edwards (from Columbia, Mo.) and Clint Bowyer (Emporia, Kan.), neither has yet to win a Sprint Cup race there. Edwards did win a Truck Series race there in 2004. … Brad Keselowski won last Sunday at Talladega, his second victory of the season. … Winners thus far this season have been Denny Hamlin (Daytona), Jimmie Johnson (Atlanta, Fontana), Brad Keselowski (Las Vegas, Talladega), Kevin Harvick (Phoenix), Kyle Busch (Martinsville, Texas) and Edwards (Bristol, Richmond). … Kevin Harvick regained the points lead after Talladega. Harvick leads all drivers with 351 points. Kyle Busch is second (342).


Next Event: May 14 at Dover International Speedway.

Then and now: Elliott Sadler won Saturday’s race at Talladega. It was a wild finish, as Sadler won under caution after a massive wreck on the front stretch coming to the checkered flag. … Winners of the first 10 Xfinity Series races this season have been Chase Elliott (Daytona), Kyle Busch (Atlanta, Las Vegas, Phoenix and Texas), Austin Dillon (Fontana), Erik Jones (Bristol), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Richmond) and Sadler (Talladega). … With his win at Talladega, Sadler moves into a tie with Daniel Suarez for the top spot in the NASCAR Xfinity Series standings, each with 314 points.

Camping World Truck

Event: Toyota Tundra 250 (167 laps, 250.5 miles), Kansas Speedway; Kansas City, Kan.

TV: Friday, 8:30 p.m., Fox Sports 1.

Then and now: The Truck Series returns to action for the first time since the Alpha Energy Solutions 250 on April 2 at Martinsville Speedway, which was won by Kyle Busch, his 45th career win in a truck. … John Hunter Nemechek leads the point standings with 83 points.

Verizon IndyCar

Next Event: Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis, May 14 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Then and now: Simon Pagenaud has won the last two races, Long Beach and Alabama, and at 188 points has opened up a sizeable lead in the standings, 188-140 over Scott Dixon.

Formula One

Next Event: Spanish Grand Prix, Circuit de Barcelona-Cataluyna, May 15.

Then and now: Nico Rosberg made it four victories in four events with a win May 1 at the Russian Grand Prix in Sochi.

NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing

Next Event: NHRA Summit Southern Nationals at Atlanta Dragway in Commerce, Ga., May 13-15. Then and now: Winners of last Sunday’s NHRA SpringNationals in Baytown, Texas were Doug Kalitta (Top Fuel), Courtney Force (Funny Car) and Greg Anderson (Pro Stock). … In the NHRA point standings, Brittany Force continues to lead Top Fuel (464 points). … In Funny Car, Courtney Force and Tim Wilkerson are tied for first (439 points each). … In Pro Stock, Jason Line continues to lead the standings (689 points). … In Pro Stock Motorcycle, Eddie Krawiec leads the standings with 232 points, followed by defending series champ Andrew Hines (197), Hector Arana (154), Chip Ellis (135) and Jerry Savoie (108). …

The two Force sisters sitting atop their respective point classes is the first time sisters have achieved that in NHRA history.

Western New York

Lancaster National: IHRA Drag Racing Season Opener, Friday, 7 p.m.; Stock Car Late Model Special, Saturday, 2 p.m.

Holland Speedway: McKinley Mall Car Show, May 7-13.

Ransomville Speedway: 59th Season Opener, Friday, 7:15 p.m.

Freedom Raceway Park: Pre-Season Practice, Friday, 7:30 p.m.

Genesee Speedway: Opening Night, Saturday, 6 p.m.

Empire Dragway: IHRA Drag Racing/Empire Gassers, Saturday, 3 p.m.

Merrittville Speedway: Hoosier Stock Duel- On-Dirt, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Humberstone Speedway: 67th Season Opener, Sunday, 6:30 p.m.

New Stateline Speedway: 60th Season Opener, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Wyoming County: Pre-Season Practice, Saturday, Noon.