Share this article

print logo

Teeing it up & Area Holes-In-One (May 4)

PGA Tour

Event: Wells Fargo Championship at Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte, N.C., Thursday through Sunday.

TV: Thursday, 4-7 p.m. and Friday, 4-6:30 p.m., Golf Channel; Saturday and Sunday, 1-2:30 p.m., Golf Channel and 3-6 p.m., CBS.

Last Year: Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland set a course record of 11-under par 61 while taking control of the tournament in the third round and closed with a 69 to win by seven strokes over Webb Simpson and Patrick Rodgers. McIlroy also broke the tournament record by finishing at 21-under 267, five strokes better than Anthony Kim’s total in 2010. It was one of four victories in 2015 for McIlroy, who claimed the first of his 11 PGA Tour victory at Quail Hollow in 2010. McIlroy, now 26, passed Gary Player of South Africa for the most victories on the circuit by an international player and shattered the tournament record with 26 birdies, including at least five each day and 11 in the third round.


Event: Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic at the Senator Course on the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail in Prattville, Ala., Thursday through Sunday.

TV: Thursday and Friday, 12:30-3:30; Saturday and Sunday, 3-5 p.m., Golf Channel.

Last Year: Kris Tamulis claimed her first victory after 11 seasons on the LPGA Tour, playing 29 holes on Sunday in the rain-delayed tournament to finish one stroke ahead of Yani Tseng of Taiwan and Austin Ernst. Tamulis, then 34, in her 186th start on the circuit, closed with scores of 67-65, making five birdies in the first eight holes of the final round and adding three more in a span of seven holes through No. 17. Then she had to wait 45 minutes to see if her lead would hold up. Tseng finished with a 67 and Ernst had a 69, both missing birdie putts of about 10 feet on the final hole, with Tseng’s effort to force a playoff lipping out of the hole.

PGA Tour Champions

Event: Insperity Invitational at The Woodlands (Texas) Country Club, May 6-8. TV: Friday, 7-10 p.m., Saturday and Sunday,; 5-7 p.m., Golf Channel.

Last Year: Ian Woosnam of Wales claimed his first victory on the PGA Tour Champions in his 36th start, sinking a 30-foot birdie putt on the first playoff hole to turn back Tom Lehman and Kenny Perry. The Welshman, who has won 52 times in his career, including the 1991 Masters, closed with a bogey-free, 4-under-par 68, making three birdies in the first six holes, adding another at No. 12 and finishing with six consecutive pars. He got up and down for par on the 72nd hole after leaving his approach shot short of the green. Lehman, who shot 69, hit his approach into the water on the extra hole, where Perry left his 35-foot birdie putt 8 feet short before Woosnam holed the winner.

Area Holes-In-One

Mike McMahon, on the 170-yard fifth hole at Brookfield CC with a 5 Hybrid.

James Tee, on the 167-yard fifth hole at Shelridge CC with a 7-iron.