Share this article

print logo

Holland's Schmidt heads list of All-State girls basketball teams

Olivia Schmidt of Holland has been named to the First All-Star Team for New York State in selections for Class C by the New York State Sportswriters Association. She is one of four Western New Yorkers who were picked for the top three teams.

Schmidt finished up a superb career in March, by leading her team to the Far West Regionals. She averaged 23.3 points per game this season, and leaves with 2,263 points - fifth on the all-time Section VI list. Schmidt was picked for the first team of The Buffalo News' All-Western New York selections. She was a fourth-team all-state pick in 2015.

Western New York had two players on the second team: Erica Martinsen of Williamsville East in Class A and Jordan Heinhold of Immaculata in Class B.

Martinsen averaged 31.3 points per game to lead all area players in scoring. Only a sophomore, the guard already has seven school records for Williamsville East. However, she plans to transfer to a private school in New Jersey, so she apparently won't be adding to her totals in the future. She leaves as The News' Player of the Year for 2016. Martinsen moved up from the ninth team last year.

Heinhold's selection is bittersweet, as Immaculata announced earlier this year that the school is closing. She averaged a double-double this season, at 23 points and 15 rebounds per game, and broke the school record for career points. Heinhold was a sixth-team all-state pick last year.

Emilee Sperry of Panama was a third-team selection in Class D. Sperry led the Panthers to the state championships, and was named the co-MVP of her conference. She and Taylor Bowen (eighth team) were an outstanding guard combination this season.

The other three members of the first-team All-Western New York squad as selected by The News were represented on the state selection list; all were from Class AA. Ericka Taplin of Williamsville North was on the sixth team, while Summer Hemphill and Anndea Zeigler of Cardinal O'Hara were on the ninth team. They led their respective teams to outstanding seasons.

Thirty-three local players were selected by the NYSSWA, including honorable mentions:

Class AA

6 - Ericka Taplin - Williamsville North - Senior
9 - Summer Hemphill - Cardinal O'Hara - Senior
9 - Anndea Zeigler - Cardinal O'Hara - Junior
10 - Ally Delano - Williamsville North - Senior
11 - Margretta Dry - Lockport - Senior
12 - Samantha Britton - Kenmore West - Senior
HR - Alexis Rockey - Frontier - Senior

Class A

2 - Erica Martinsen - Williamsville East - Sophomore
7 - Anna Chiacchia - Hamburg - Senior
7 - Brianna Neeley - Williamsville South - Senior
7 - Sarah Young - Sacred Heart - Senior
HM - Kenetria Redfern - Cheektowaga - Senior
HM - Claire Wanzer - Amherst - Junior
HM - Kathleen Ryan - Sacred Heart - Senior
HM - Raeann White - Lake Shore - Junior

Class B

2 - Jordan Heinhold - Immaculata - Senior
5 - Sara Pfeiffer - Olean - Freshman
5 - Janae Brannon - Emerson - Senior
7 - Emma Brinker - East Aurora - Sophomore
11 - Hannah Cybart - Fredonia - Junior
13 - Rachel Senek - Wilson - Junior
HM - Julianna Meisenheimer - East Aurora - Junior

Class C

1 - Olivia Schmidt - Holland - Senior
5 - Allison Forness - Allegany-Limestone - Senior
5 - Nia Caver - Tapestry - Junior
7 - Gabby Iuculano - Frewsburg - Freshman
HM - Alicia Massera - Holland - Senior

Class D

3 - Emilee Sperry - Panama - Senior
6 - Allison Haskell - Franklinville - Sophomore
6 - Marissa Hamilton - Ellicottville - Junior
8 - Taylor Bowen - Panama - Senior
HM - Bridget Yaw - Sherman - Senior
HM - Jamie Wilcox - Pine Valley - Senior

The New York State Sportswriters Association's full list is available here.

-- Budd Bailey

There are no comments - be the first to comment