Share this article

print logo

Wallace takes reins at Niagara Power Coalition

WHEATFIELD – Town of Niagara Supervisor Lee S. Wallace has been chosen as the new chairman of the Niagara Power Coalition, the group that effectively controls Niagara River Greenway funding in Niagara County.

The New York Power Authority, which supplies the Greenway money, also has a vote on what is called the Host Communities Standing Committee.

Wallace succeeded Cynthia A. Bianco, Niagara Falls school superintendent, who did not seek re-election at the March 16 annual meeting because she is retiring as superintendent in June.

Thomas O’Donnell, assistant corporation counsel for the City of Niagara Falls, was named vice chairman, and Jacqueline Siegmann, principal account clerk for the Town of Niagara, was chosen as treasurer.

Two of the three officers are needed to sign all checks issued by the coalition. In order to avoid objections from auditors to possible unilateral control of spending by one of the seven coalition members, the board decided that O’Donnell must sign all the checks, along with one of the Town of Niagara representatives, either Wallace or Siegmann.

The Power Coalition includes Niagara County, the City of Niagara Falls, the towns of Niagara and Lewiston, and the Niagara Falls, Lewiston-Porter and Niagara-Wheatfield school districts.