Share this article

print logo

Teeing it up for March 23

PGA Tour

Event: WGC-Dell Match Play at Austin Country Club in Austin, Texas, Wednesday through Sunday.

TV: Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, 2-8 p.m., Golf Channel; Saturday, 10 a.m.-2 p.m., Golf Channel and 2-6 p.m. on NBC; and Sunday, 10 a.m.-2 p.m. on the Golf Channel and 3-7 p.m., NBC. Last Year: Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland captured his second WGC title at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco, never trailing during a 4-and-2 victory over Gary Woodland in the final. McIlroy, who won all seven matches he played, took command early by winning three straight holes after he and Woodland halved the first three. It was never closer than 2 up after that. McIlroy had three tough battles earlier, taking the last two holes of regulation to force extra holes against Billy Horschel before winning on the 20th hole in the pool-play finale; pulling even with Paul Casey of England on the 17th hole and winning with a birdie on the 22nd; and winning the last two holes with birdie-eagle to turn back Jim Furyk, 1 up, in the semifinals. The eagle came on a 45-foot putt. McIlroy’s other WGC title came in the 2014 Bridgestone Invitational. Event: Puerto Rico Open at Cocoa Beach Golf and Country Club in Rio Grande, Puerto Rico, Thursday through Sunday. TV: Thursday and Friday, 10:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.; Saturday and Sunday, 9 p.m.-midnight; Golf Channel. Last Year: Alex Cejka won for the first time on the PGA Tour by making a 15-foot birdie putt on the first playoff hole to beat Sam Saunders, Jon Curran, Tim Petrovic and Emiliano Grillo of Argentina. The then-44-year-old Czech-born German, a four-time winner on the European Tour, birdied four of the first six holes on his way to a 3-under-par 69 in the rain. Saunders, Arnold Palmer’s grandson, shot 68 and had a chance to force another playoff hole but missed an 8-foot birdie putt. Grillo and Curran shared the lead after 17 holes in regulation but closed with bogeys, and each shot 70. Petrovic got up and down from a greenside bunker to finish off a 67 and get into the playoff.


Event: Kia Classic at Aviara Golf Club in Carlsbad, Calif., Thursday through Sunday.

TV: Thursday and Friday, 8-10 p.m.; Saturday and Sunday, 6-9 p.m.; Golf Channel.

Last Year: Cristie Kerr earned her 17th title on the LPGA Tour, finishing with a 7-under-par 65 to beat Mirim Lee of South Korea by two strokes. Kerr, who won for the first time since the 2013 Kingsmill Championship, pulled away from a three-way tie for the lead with Lee and top-ranked Lydia Ko of New Zealand by carding four consecutive birdies through the 16th hole. Lee, who eagled the 16th hole but double-bogeyed the 17th, wound up with a 70, and top-ranked Ko was another shot back after a 67. Kerr, who started the final round three strokes behind, added victory No. 18 in the CME Group Tour Championship to end the season.

Champions Tour

Event: Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic at Fallen Oak Golf Club in Biloxi, Miss., Friday through Sunday.

TV: Friday, 9:30-11:30 p.m.; Saturday and Sunday, 3-5 p.m.; Golf Channel each day.

Last Year: David Frost of South Africa claimed his sixth victory when he sank a 6-foot par putt on the final hole to beat Tom Lehman and Kevin Sutherland by one stroke. Frost, who won 10 times on the PGA Tour, took a costly one-stroke penalty on the 17th green when he dropped his golf ball and it moved his coin. That cut his lead to one stroke after he built it by making four birdies in a span of five holes on the back nine. Frost closed with a 4-under-par 68, while Lehman had a 70 but missed a 4-foot birdie putt on the final hole that would have forced a playoff. Sutherland birdied the last hole for a 72.