Share this article

print logo

Starting Line for Feb. 25

NASCAR Sprint Cup

Event: Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 (325 laps, 500.5 miles), Atlanta Motor Speedway, Hampton, Ga.

TV: Sunday, 1 p.m., FOX.

Then and now: Jimmie Johnson is the defending winner from last year’s race. ... Kasey Kahne’s last Sprint Cup win came in the 2014 race at Atlanta. ... This marks the first official race for 2016 under the new low downforce aero package. Tested several times in 2015, the low downforce package is expected to make racing closer and put more control of the race car in drivers’ hands. ... This will mark rookie Chase Elliott’s bid to follow in the footsteps of father and NASCAR Hall of Famer Bill Elliott and the success he had at Atlanta. Father and son grew up in Dawsonville, Ga., located just north of the city of Atlanta. ... This will be the 109th Sprint Cup race held at AMS. ... Denny Hamlin won last Sunday’s season-opening Daytona 500. ... With that win, Hamlin is atop the Sprint Cup points standings. He leads Martin Truex Jr. by five points, defending Sprint Cup champ Kyle Busch by six points, Kevin Harvick by eight points and Carl Edwards by nine points.


Event: Heads Up Georgia 250, (163 laps, 251.2 miles), Atlanta Motor Speedway.

TV: Saturday, 1:30 p.m., Fox Sports 1.

Then and now: This will be the 25th Xfinity Series race held at AMS. ... Even though he’s a Sprint Cup regular, Kevin Harvick has won the last three Xfinity races at AMS, and four of the last seven. ... Chase Elliott held off Joey Logano to win last Saturday’s season-opening Xfinity race at Daytona. ... Because Chase Elliott and Logano are Sprint Cup regulars, Elliott Sadler leads the Xfinity point standings after Daytona. Darrell Wallace is three points back, Brandon Jones is four points back, fourth-ranked Daniel Suarez is five points back and fifth-ranked Blake Koch is six points back.

Camping World Truck

Event: Great Clips 250 (130 laps, 200.2 miles), Atlanta Motor Speedway.

TV: Saturday, 4:30 p.m., Fox Sports 1.

Then and now: This is the 15th Truck series race held at AMS, dating back to 2004. ... Matt Crafton won this race last year. Prior to that, the Truck Series did not race at AMS in 2013 or 2014. ... Kyle Busch has won the most Truck races at Atlanta (4), but none since 2009. ... Johnny Sauter started 2016 with a new team (GMS Racing) and a win at Daytona last Friday. ... It’s rare that both the Xfinity and Truck Series race on the same day, just hours apart, but that will be the case Saturday at Atlanta. ... Sauter is the points leader. He leads Ryan Truex by four points, Parker Kligerman by six points, and Brandon Brown and Travis Kvapil are tied for fourth place, seven points back.

NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing

Event: CarQuest Auto Parts Nationals, Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park, Chandler, Ariz., Feb. 26-28.

TV: Fox Sports 1, Feb. 28 eliminations. Final round begins at 6:30 p.m.

Then and now: Defending winners from last year’s race are Shawn Langdon (Top Fuel), Matt Hagan (Funny Car) and Rodger Brogdon (Pro Stock). ... Winners of the season-opening Circle K Winternationals two weeks ago in Pomona, Calif., were: Steve Torrence (Top Fuel), Ron Capps (Funny Car), Greg Anderson (Pro Stock). That race also marked the debut of Fox and Fox Sports TV coverage of the series. ... Torrence leads the Top Fuel point standings with 126 points, followed by Doug Kalitta (94), Richie Crampton (77), J.R. Todd (72) and Clay Millican (57). Defending series champ Antron Brown is in seventh place (48 points). ... Capps leads the Funny Car point standings with 119 points, followed by defending series champ Del Worsham (97), Robert Hight (80), John Force (69) and Jack Beckman (65). ... Anderson leads the Pro Stock point standings with 125 points, followed by Jason Line (105), Bo Butner (84), Drew Skillman (75) and Vincent Nobile (54). Defending series champ Erica Enders got off to a terrible start at Pomona and is ranked 11th (32 points).