Share this article

print logo

Reporters’ Notebook

OLAF FUB SEZ: A thought from our 16th president, Abraham Lincoln, born on this date in 1809, “Give me six hours to chop down a tree and I will spend the first four sharpening the axe.”


NEW BEST FRIENDS – Twenty pet rescue agencies will bring their most adorable dogs and cats to the WNY Furtastic Pet Adopt-a-Thon from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday in the Erie County Fire Training Academy, 3359 Broadway just east of Union Road in Cheektowaga.

Every adopted pet will receive a free ID microchip and registration, courtesy of the county’s Department of Health, along with goodie bags and food from TLC Pet Food. There also will be prizes, K-9 demonstrations, food trucks and tips from pet groomers, trainers and behavioral experts.


SWING YOUR SWEETHEART – A Valentine’s Day Dance featuring the band Scarecrow will be held from 8 to 11 p.m. Saturday in Lt. Col. Matt Urban Post 7275, Veterans of Foreign Wars, 3741 Walden Ave., Lancaster. Tickets are $8 presale at the post, $9 at the door. For info, call 681-8387.


BARGAIN HUNT – Doors open at 9 a.m. Saturday for a rummage sale in Bacon Memorial Presbyterian Church, 166 59th St., Niagara Falls. A $2 bag sale begins at noon. There’s a bake sale, too.


CATCH OF THE DAY – Now that Lent is here, it’s high season for Friday fish frys. Here are two we’ve been hearing about:

St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church, Wilson-Burt and West Creek road, Burt, 4:30 to 6:30 p.m. Fried fish or shrimp dinners are $9.50 adults, $5.50 children, and include french fries or potato salad, coleslaw, roll, dessert and beverage. For info, call 778-7633.

AMVETS Hank Nowak Post 45, 3071 Abbott Road, Orchard Park, 4 to 8 p.m. Regular and children’s menu.


COLLEGE CASH – High school seniors in the eight Western New York counties who want to go into the food service or hospitality industries are invited to apply for the annual scholarship program sponsored by the Taste of Buffalo.

To be eligible, students must be enrolled, or plan to enroll, in a food service or hospitality curriculum in an accredited two- or four-year school next fall. Five $1,000 scholarships will be awarded.

For more information and applications, visit Applications, a current transcript and report card, and letters of recommendation must be received by April 8.


PACKING UP – Assemblywoman Angela Wozniak is sponsoring a collection of new or gently used luggage for foster children served locally by Baker Victory Services. Duffle bags are especially appropriate. Donations can be dropped off through March 15 at four locations:

Centerpoint Community Church, 56 Burlington Ave., Depew; Our Lady Help of Christians Church, 4125 Union Road at Genesee Street, Cheektowaga (7 a.m. to 3 p.m., Monday to Friday); the Cheektowaga Senior Citizen Center, 3349 Broadway at Union Road, Cheektowaga; and New Creation Fellowship Academy, 3325 Genesee St., Cheektowaga (1 to 6 p.m., Friday and Saturday).


HAPPY BIRTHDAY – Mike Robitaille, Dr. Martin Brecher, Uri Loman, Michael Agro, Mark Lickfeld, Anne Augustyn, Donna Forsyth, Jack Sheeran, Bridget Sheeran, John Asztalos, Juanita K. Hunter, Priscilla Livingston, Herb Baratta, Karen Vanee, Kathy Paluch, Mark “Rogo” Rogowski, Mary Lou Seitz, Amanda Jo Kelly, Lynn Clark, Chris Withey, DJ Tyrone Crawford and Matt Ratel.

AND SATURDAY – Colleen O’Brien O’Neill , Michael Martin Flannery, Mark Mulville, Bob Reis, Elizabeth Erker, Laura Day, Tony DiPasquale, Sharon Summers, Ben Meckes, Barb Simmons, Mary Rutkowski, Cathy Woloszyn, Hilde Berke, Gary Gottlieb, Jeff Lavelle, Carly Switalski, Darlene Govenettio and Dr. Yunus Barodawala.

AND SUNDAY – Stefanie Dorsheimer, Michael Moran, Martha Fernan, Vincent Fernan, Brendan Bannon, Sharon Orsorio, Johanne Trotter, Bill Stachowski, Cheryl Lyles, Sue Schulman, Cindy Abbott Letro, Eric Andersen, Jordana Halpern, Tavia Weidmann, Gregory Day, Mike Mohart, Kathy Scanio, Evie Kelley, Kevin P. Higgins, Conor Clouden Hooley, Scott W. Hughes, Gary Polik, Madison Sheffield, Sheilah Zaretsky, Megan Blakely, Craig Haendiges, David Zack, Judy Reese, Lisanne Wozniak Moore, Lynn Bevelacqua, Robert W. Zygmunt and Kristin Ann Sieracki-Cross.