Share this article

print logo

Testing will be held for News Spelling Bee

School champions from throughout Western New York will take a written test Wednesday in hopes of qualifying for the 89th annual Buffalo News Spelling Bee.

Twenty students will be selected to compete in the oral finals, which will be held March 13 at the Buffalo History Museum. The winner of that competition will go on to the Scripps National Spelling Bee, courtesy of The Buffalo News, to be held the week of May 22 in Washington, D.C.

Here are the spellers and their alternates:

Allegany County

Belfast Central – Dylan Sutton.

Bolivar-Richburg Junior High – Kelsey Pacer, Salena Peters.

Cuba-Rushford Middle – Khayla Joy, Justin Komodar.

Fillmore Central – Johnathon Shaffner.

Genesee Valley Central – Jonathan Rizzo.

Wellsville Middle – Austin Keib, Alexander Burke.


Global Concepts Charter – James Davila.

Nardin Elementary – Annelise Wall, Sophia Semo.

Nichols Middle – Lucas Kiewek, Sylvie Anthony.

School 3 D’Youville Porter Campus – Natalie Ray, Elijah Abernathy.

School 19 Native American Magnet – Francis De La Torres, Verkai Marshall.

Cattaraugus County

Ellicottville Central – Alexander Hunt, Megan Hartsell.

Hinsdale Central – Ashley Chapman, Kamerrin Greeley.

Olean Intermediate Middle – Maryam Mirza, Lauren Kielar.

West Valley Central – Alexander Fisher, Chloe Chai.

Chautauqua County

Cassadaga Valley Middle – Ian Andersen, Luke Ingersoll.

Fredonia Middle – Cameron Crowell, Jayden Yerico.

Southwestern Middle – Isabella Moore, Marcus Kautzman.

Erie County

Casey Middle- Pranav Setlur, Sayantika Roy.

Children of Mary Homeschool - Therese Pivarunas, Joseph Pivarunas.

Christian Central Academy – Owen Lindstrom, Ana Bellanti.

Clarence Middle – Bryan Renzoni and Hannah Miller.

Depew Middle – Justin Cwiklinski, Mya Jackson.

G.R.A.C.E. Leah Homeschool – Emily Tait .

Heim Middle – Arnav Patra, Cissy Wang.

Herbert Hoover Middle – John Brackenridge, Abigail Rice.

Holland Central – Renee Wright, Emily Zehnder.

Immaculate Conception – Santino Panzica, Anneliese Przybyla.

Kadimah – Jonah Slabodkin, Hailey Epstein.

Kenmore Middle – Katie Wieleba, Dominic Stanz.

Lake Shore Middle – Jacob DeAngelis, Haley Murray.

Mill Middle – Rohan Nag, Alea Buck.

Our Lady of The Blessed Sacrament – Dominic Cervi, Katelyn Laistner.

SS Peter and Paul, Hamburg – Emily Rhoads, Emma Jablonski.

SS Peter and Paul, Williamsville – Michael Sobol, Caroline Erdman.

St. Amelia – Alexandra Randall, Victor Mazzara.

St. Christopher Elementary – Evelyn Grapes, Luca Passalacqua.

St. Gregory the Great – Isabella Judge, Gregory James.

St. John the Baptist – Colin Richey, Caroline Cook.

Stanley G. Falk – Evan Stokes, Jose Matos.

Sweet Home Middle – Jacob Cazes, Sean Hedrick.

Park School – Richard Miller, Fiona Stewart.

Transit Middle – Elliot Sulaiman, Andrew Kim.

Universal School – Khushbakht Pervez .

William Street – Nicholas O’Neill, Zachary Winnicki.

Genesee County

Alexander Middle – Ethan Stroud, Hannah Pope.

Byron-Bergen Middle – Elli Schelemanow, Garrett Swinter.

Le Roy Junior – Bailey Morse, Dalton Cowell.

Livingston County

Livonia Middle – Ewan Maxwell, Caleb Gardener.


North Park Junior – Tyler Kazmierczak, Sara McIntyre.

Royalton-Hartland Middle – Christopher Ulrich, Edward Hahn.