Share this article

print logo

Tyrod Taylor, Eric Wood headed to Hawaii for Pro Bowl

The Buffalo Bills will be represented in the Pro Bowl after all.

The team announced Monday that center Eric Wood and quarterback Tyrod Taylor have been named to the game's lineup, replacing players from the Carolina Panthers who are not eligible for the game after advancing to the Super Bowl on Sunday.

Wood replaces Panthers center Ryan Kalil, while Taylor replaces Panthers quarterback Cam Newton.

Both Wood and Taylor were originally chosen as alternates for the game, which will be held Sunday (7 p.m., ESPN) at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii. They will each make their first Pro Bowl appearance.

Buffalo's lone player to be originally selected to the game, running back LeSean McCoy, will not participate because of a knee injury suffered late in the 2015 season.

Taylor, who will be the first Bills' quarterback to play in the Pro Bowl since Drew Bledsoe in 2002, compiled a 99.4 passer rating this past season  -- his first as a starter. That ranks second in franchise single-season history, behind only Hall of Famer Jim Kelly's 1990 season. Taylor also set a single-season franchise record for rushing yards by a quarterback, finishing with 568 yards on the ground.

Wood played every offensive snap for the Bills, who led the NFL in total rushing yards (2,432) and yards per carry (4.78). Buffalo had three players top 500 rushing yards (McCoy with 895, Taylor and rookie Karlos Williams with 517) for the first time since 1962. Wood will be the first Buffalo center in the Pro Bowl since Kent Hull in 1990.

Counting McCoy, the Bills have three Pro Bowlers on the offensive side of the ball for the first time since 2002, when they had four (Bledsoe, guard Ruben Brown, running back Travis Henry and wide receiver Eric Moulds).

As they have for the past two seasons, Pro Bowl rosters will be set via a draft, with Hall of Fame receivers Michael Irvin and Jerry Rice serving as captains of the two teams. Wood and Taylor will find out which team they are on when the league holds its selection show Wednesday (7:30 p.m., ESPN2).

Story topics: / /

There are no comments - be the first to comment