Share this article

print logo

Former aldermen receive Lockport appointments

LOCKPORT – Two members of last year’s Lockport Common Council who were ousted by the voters in November have been appointed to the Fire Board by Mayor Anne E. McCaffrey.

Patrick W. Schrader and Kathryn J. “Kitty” Fogle were chosen to the board that oversees the Fire Department and approves all promotions and hirings. Schrader, who served on the board during most of his 14 years on the Council, was given a four-year term, while Fogle will serve the one year left on the term of Peter P. Robinson, who resigned.

McCaffrey also chose Council President David R. Wohleben, who defeated Schrader for the 4th Ward Council seat in November, to join the Fire Board as the Council’s representative.

Alderman Richard E. Abbott, D-5th Ward, was chosen for a similar role on the Police Board, which handles hirings and promotions in the Police Department. The mayor also reappointed onetime Alderwoman Flora M. Hawkins to serve another four years on the Police Board.

Another former alderman, John Lombardi III, was chosen to represent the city on the board of the Niagara Community Action Program, a position he has held for several years. Because of Lombardi’s advocacy, the city has been funding NiaCAP to the tune of $2,500 each year, long after all other outside agencies lost their city payments.

The city also will have a new member of its legal staff, as David J. Haylett Jr. was appointed second deputy corporation counsel. He replaces Matthew E. Brooks, who was hired last year as Wheatfield town attorney and found he had a schedule conflict between the Wheatfield town meetings and the Lockport Planning Board sessions; both are on Mondays.

Haylett filled in for Brooks as city prosecutor last year, when Brooks was ill, Corporation Counsel John J. Ottaviano said. Haylett, an associate in Lockport’s Seaman Norris law firm who was admitted to the bar in 2014, used to work in the district office of former State Sen. George D. Maziarz.

The mayor chose Alderman R. Joseph O’Shaughnessy, D-at large, to fill the city’s seat on the Lockport Community Cable Commission, which is shared with the Town of Lockport. O’Shaughnessy also takes over the Community Pride program, in which petty criminals assigned to the program by city judges are assigned to perform cleanup chores around the city on Saturday mornings. Former Council President Joseph C. Kibler was in charge of that program for many years.

Jay Dry, a certified public accountant, was chosen for the city audit committee, replacing Brian C. Ranney, who resigned. Also, Jennifer Stoll and Margaret F. Truax traded places on the city Board of Ethics. Stoll will become a regular member and Truax will replace her as the alternate member.