Share this article

print logo

Virtuoso to continue leading Niagara Legislature Democrats

LOCKPORT – Niagara County Legislature Minority Leader Dennis F. Virtuoso, D-Niagara Falls, said Thursday he will continue as the chief of the four-member Democratic caucus in 2016.

Virtuoso said Jason A. Zona will be his first deputy and Owen T. Steed his second deputy. Both are from Niagara Falls.

Meanwhile, the Republican majority announced that Legislators John Syracuse of Newfane and Michael A. Hill of Hartland will serve in 2016 as deputies to the newly named majority leader, Randy R. Bradt of North Tonawanda.

The GOP caucus also announced it will keep its main patronage appointees on the job in the next term: Legislature Clark Mary Jo Tamburlin of North Tonawanda, County Attorney Claude A. Joerg of Pendleton, Public Defender David J. Farrugia of Lockport and Office for the Aging attorney Gary M. Billingsley of Cambria.