Share this article

print logo

High School Extra (Dec. 6): Brown hits 1,000-point mark

T.C. Brown hits 1,000

Senior T.C. Brown passed the 1,000-point career mark and Amherst (2-0) held off a fourth-quarter surge by Bishop Kearney of Rochester for a 67-56 victory on Saturday in the Cataract Classic at Niagara Falls High.

Brown, last season’s ECIC III Player of the Year, led the Tigers with 25 points and now has 1,003 in his career. Six-foot-10 center Amadi Ikpeze had 17 points. Brown also had 10 rebounds, five assists and five steals while Ikpeze gathered 15 rebounds and blocked five shots.

Guard Ryan Carter scored 20 of his 23 points in the fourth quarter as Kearney had a 30-point period and made a run at the Tigers.

“We had a lot of contribution from our bench,” said Amherst coach Chris Kensy. “A lot of guys stepped up and made shots at the right time.”

Tournament MVP Dan Freilicher had 14 points and nine rebounds in leading Orchard Park over Iroquois, 69-36, in the championship game of the Iroquois Tournament.

Tristan Sullivan, a transfer from California, had 26 points and 11 rebounds and MVP Will Cordero scored 20 for West Seneca West as the Indians defeated Holland, 58-33, in the championship game of the Pioneer Tournament.

Lions win own tourney

Tournament MVP Kyle Brown nailed three three-pointers in his 14-point output and teammate Dakota Wiley also scored 14 for Lockport in a championship game victory over St. Joe’s, 71-60, in the Lions’ own tournament Saturday night. Wiley and teammate Andrew Austin made all-tournament.

Nicholas Motley of St. Joe’s was high scorer in the game with 21 on top of his 26 points in the first round on Friday against International Prep at Grover.

Vasbinder 21st in Nike

Kenny Vasbinder of East Aurora finished 21st on Saturday in the Nike Cross-Country Nationals in Portland, Ore., running the 5 K course in 15 minutes, 30.9 seconds. The winner, Casey Clinger of American Fork, Utah, won in 15:03.2. Vasbinder was the lone qualifier from Western New York.

Katie Rainsberger of Colorado was the girls’ winner in a record 16:56.8 Fayetteville-Manlius won its second straight girls team title led by a 15th place finish by Kaitlyn Neal that was worth four points in the team scoring. Ben Petrella’s sixth-place finish for three points helped Liverpool to a 10-place finish in the boys team competition.