Share this article

print logo

No Bandits win awards at NLL ceremony

The Buffalo Bandits were blanked in the annual awards ceremony of the National Lacrosse League, which was held Tuesday night in Toronto.

The Bandits had five finalists selected: Ryan Benesch, Dhane Smith, Steve Priolo, General Manager Steve Dietrich and team executive Scott Loffler. Benesch was named as a first-team All-Pro selection, while Priolo was a second-team pick.

The winners were:

Most Valuable Player: Shawn Evans of Calgary; Goaltender: Matt Vinc of Rochester; Defensive Player: Kyle Rubisch of Edmonton; Rookie: Ben McIntosh of Edmonton; Transition Player: Joey Cupido of Colorado; Wingman: Josh Sanderson of Toronto; Teammate: Joel McCready of Vancouver; Head Coach: John Lovell of Toronto; General manager: Terry Sanderson of Toronto; Executive of the Year: Bruce Urban of Edmonton; and Sportsmanship: Kyle Buchanan of New England.

In addition, Terry Sanderson was inducted in the league's Hall of Fame. He passed away late last year.

-- Budd Bailey

There are no comments - be the first to comment