Share this article

print logo

Starting Line for Sept. 24

Sprint Cup

Event: Sylvania 300, New Hampshire Motor Speedway; Loudon, N.H.

TV: 2 p.m. Sunday, NBCSN.

Then and now: This is the second race in the 10-race Chase for the Sprint Cup championship. ... This marks the 42nd time the Sprint Cup Series has raced at the flat one-mile oval. Joey Logano is the defending champion of this race, while Kyle Busch won there earlier this year. ... Kevin Harvick and Clint Bowyer are the first drivers in trouble in the Chase after the playoff opener at Chicagoland Speedway this past Sunday. Harvick finished 42nd and is last on the 16-driver grid, 43 points behind series leader Matt Kenseth. Harvick almost assuredly has to win at least one of the two remaining first-round races to advance. ... Denny Hamlin won Sunday’s race at Chicagoland despite driving with a torn ACL in his right knee. ... Five Chase drivers remain without a win in 2015: Jamie McMurray, Jeff Gordon, Ryan Newman, Paul Menard and Clint Bowyer. ... It’s a Joe Gibbs Racing juggernaut atop the standings. Kenseth leads all drivers with 2,052 points, followed by Denny Hamlin (2,050), Carl Edwards and Kyle Busch (both with 2,049). Kurt Busch and Logano are tied for fifth (2,048 apiece), followed by Jimmie Johnson (2,045), Ryan Newman (2,040), Brad Keselowski (2,039), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2,038), Martin Truex Jr. (2,035), Jeff Gordon (2,031), Jamie McMurray (2,028), Paul Menard (2,027), Clint Bowyer (2,025) and Harvick (2,009).


Event: 300, Kentucky Speedway; Sparta, Ky.

TV: 8 p.m. Saturday, NBCSN.

Then and now: This is the 19th Xfinity Series race held at the 1.5-mile Kentucky Speedway. Brendan Gaughan is the defending winner of this race, while Brad Keselowski won for the third time in his career here on July 10. Keselowski will not be in this race, nor will other Sprint Cup regulars who have done well in the past at Kentucky. ... Chris Buescher remains the Xfinity Series points leader, holding a 25-point edge over Ty Dillon, who regained the No. 2 spot this Saturday at Chicagoland. Chase Elliott fell to third place, 28 points back, while Regan Smith is fourth, 51 points back. Elliott Sadler is 106 points back, and Darrell Wallace Jr. is 107 points back.

Camping World Truck

Event: UNOH 175, New Hampshire Motor Speedway; Loudon, N.H.

TV: 1 p.m. Saturday, Fox Sports 1.

Then and now: After an exciting race at Chicagoland Speedway (which was delayed one day due to rain), the Truck series moves to New Hampshire, where there’s always plenty of beating and banging. ... This will be the 18th time the trucks have raced on New Hampshire’s flat one-mile oval. But an even bigger milestone is Saturday’s 500th overall race in Truck Series history. ... John Hunter Nemechek earned his first career Truck Series race win at Chicagoland, becoming the fourth-youngest driver to win a race in the series. ... Erik Jones remains atop the Truck Series points standings, followed by Tyler Reddick (10 back), two-time defending series champion Matt Crafton (-11), Johnny Sauter (-52) and Daniel Hemric (-109).


Event: NHRA AAA Insurance Midwest Nationals, Sept. 25-27, at Gateway Motorsports Park; Madison, Ill.

TV: Qualifying, 3-4:30 a.m. Sunday, ESPN2, and again at 2-3 p.m., Eliminations, 12-6 p.m., and again from 8:30 p.m.-12 a.m., ESPN2.

Then and now: The Countdown to the Championship is under way. Last Sunday’s Carolina Nationals kicked off the six-race playoff, with Antron Brown (Top Fuel), Del Worsham (Funny Car), Erica Enders (Pro Stock) and Andrew Hines (Pro Stock Motorcycle) emerging victorious. ... Brown’s final round run vs. J.R. Todd marked the first final in NHRA history between a pair of African-American drivers. ... Enders’ 19th career win pushed her past legendary Shirley Muldowney to No. 2 on the all-time wins list for a female driver. Motorcycle rider Angelle Sampey holds the record (41 wins). ... The points leaders:

Top Fuel: Brown holds a nine-point edge over teammate Tony Schumacher, while Larry Dixon is third (-82). In Funny Car, Worsham leads Tommy Johnson Jr. by six points, followed by Jack Beckman (-34) and Matt Hagan (-48). In Pro Stock, Enders has a big lead on No. 2 Greg Anderson (-83), followed by Chris McGaha (-104). In Pro Stock Motorcycle, Andrew Hines is followed by Eddie Krawiec (-20) and Jerry Savoie (-52).

Formula One

Event: Japanese Grand Prix, Suzuka International Racing Course, Sunday, 12:30 a.m., NBCSN.

Last Week: Sebastian Vettel won the Singapore Grand Prix for his third victory of the season.

Western New York

Lancaster National: Stock Cars: U.S. Open Weekend, Friday-Sunday. Consult

Wyoming County: Off.

Empire Dragway: IHRA Drag Racing/Empire Gassers, 1 p.m. Saturday.