Share this article

print logo

Leaders named for the Sisters of St. Francis at Stella Niagara

LEWISTON – Sister Edith Wyss was elected Provincial Minister of the 22nd Provincial Chapter of the Sisters of St. Francis Holy Name Province of Stella Niagara.

The leadership elections of the Sisters of St. Francis of Penance and Christian Charity were announced Wednesday and four-year leadership terms began in August.

Also elected was Sister Mary Serbacki, who was named First Councilor and sisters Nancy Zelma and Jolene Ellis who were both elected Provincial Councilors.

The Sisters of St. Francis, Stella Niagara, also sponsor the institutions: Center of Renewal and Conference Center, Stella Niagara Education Park Buffalo Academy of the Sacred Heart, and Francis Center in Niagara Falls. Ministries are also across the country and across the word in Mexico, Indonesia and Tanzania. They also care for the infirm and elderly sisters of Holy Name Province.

The Sisters of St. Francis have served in the United States since 1874, serving as teachers, social workers, health care providers and spiritual leaders.