Share this article

print logo

Starting Line for July 30

Sprint Cup

Event: Microsoft 10 400 at Pocono Raceway; Long Pond, Pa.

TV: 1:30 p.m. Sunday, NBCSN (Radio: Motor Racing Network/SiriusXM Channel 90).

Then and now: Dale Earnhardt Jr. won both races at the Tricky Triangle in 2014. … Martin Truex Jr. won the last Sprint Cup race at Pocono on June 7. … Jeff Gordon failed in his bid to win a final Brickyard 400 race Sunday at Indianapolis after being collected in a wreck with Clint Bowyer. Gordon finished 42nd. … Kyle Busch won his first Brickyard 400, earning his third straight Sprint Cup win and fourth in the last five races. The win leaves Busch just 28 points out of 30th place, which is what he must reach to be eligible for the Chase for the Sprint Cup. Busch has made up 150 points in the last five races. … Six races remain before the start of the Chase at Chicago on Sept. 20. … Kevin Harvick remains atop the Sprint Cup point standings, holding a 69-point lead over Joey Logano and a 100-point margin over Earnhardt. Jimmie Johnson is fourth, 102 points back, while Truex is fifth, 109 points back.


Event: U.S. Cellular 250 Presented by New Holland, Iowa Speedway; Newton, Iowa.

TV: 8 p.m. Saturday, NBCSN (Radio: Motor Racing Network/SiriusXM Channel 90).

Then and now: Brad Keselowski is the defending winner and has won two of the last four races at Iowa. … Chris Buescher won the most recent Xfinity race at Iowa on May 17. … Kyle Busch won last week’s Xfinity Series race at Indianapolis, and then doubled up the next day to win the Brickyard 400 Sprint Cup race there. … Chris Buescher remains atop the Xfinity standings, but saw his lead shrink slightly for the second straight week. He still leads second-ranked Chase Elliott, 31 to 25 points after Indianapolis. Third-ranked Ty Dillon also closed the margin on Buescher, from 38 to 30 points after Indy. … Fifth of a stretch of 16 consecutive weeks of racing for Xfinity Series drivers.

Camping World Truck

Event: Pocono Mountains 150, Pocono Raceway; Long Pond, Pa.

TV: 1 p.m. Saturday, Fox Sports 1 (Radio: Motor Racing Network/SiriusXM Channel 90).

Then and now: Austin Dillon won at Pocono last August. … This is only the sixth Truck race ever held at Pocono, a streak that began in 2010. … Christopher Bell won the most recent race, the Mud Summer Classic, on July 22, at Eldora Speedway – the only NASCAR race in any of the three major series to be run on dirt. … One big thing to watch in this race: Kyle Busch will make his first Truck Series start of 2015. … Matt Crafton saw his points margin drop slightly after Eldora, going from a 20-point lead over No. 2-ranked Tyler Reddick to just 14. No. 3-ranked Eric Jones also closed in from 29 to 24 points behind Crafton.


Event: Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio; Lexington, Ohio.

TV: 1:30 p.m. Sunday, NBCSN.

Then and now: Scott Dixon is the defending winner and has all but owned IndyCar races at Mid-Ohio, having won three of the last four and five of the eight overall races run since the series began there in 2007. … Ryan Hunter-Reay won the most recent race, the Iowa Corn 300, at Iowa on July 18. … There are only three races remaining on the schedule: Sunday at Mid-Ohio, Aug. 23 at Pocono and the season finale at Sonoma on Aug. 30. … As he has since the first race of the season (which he won in St. Petersburg, Fla.), Montoya remains No. 1 in the point standings. Juan Pablo Montoya leads No. 2 ranked Graham Rahal by 42 points, and leads third-ranked Dixon by 48 points. Helio Castroneves is fourth (minus-54) and Will Power is in fifth (minus-55).


Event: Sonoma Nationals, July 31-Aug. 2, Sonoma Raceway; Sonoma, Calif.

TV: Qualifying, 8-10 p.m. Saturday, ESPN2; final rounds, 9 p.m.-12 a.m. Sunday, Sunday, Aug. 2, ESPN2 (tape delay).

Then and now: Defending winners of this race from last year are Khalid alBalooshi (Top Fuel), Courtney Force (Funny Car), Jason Line (Pro Stock) and Eddie Krawiec (Pro Stock Motorcycle). … Winners at Denver last Sunday were: Steve Torrence (Top Fuel), Jack Beckman (Funny Car), Larry Morgan (Pro Stock) and Eddie Krawiec (Pro Stock Motorcycle). Of note, it was Beckman’s fourth win of the season and Torrence’s first in more than two years. … This will be the 15th race on the 24-race NHRA national event schedule. … Tony Schumacher maintains his lead on the Top Fuel standings, with an 85-point advantage over teammate Antron Brown and 206 over Larry Dixon. … In Funny Car, Matt Hagan maintains his lead in the standings, but Jack Beckman moved into second place after his win at Denver. Beckman is 145 points back. John Force moved into third place, 192 points back. … In Pro Stock, Greg Anderson saw his lead drop from 66 to 37 points over No. 2 Erica Enders, while Jason Line remains No. 3, 213 points back. … In Pro Stock Motorcycle, Eddie Krawiec holds a 36-point lead over Hector Arana Jr., while defending series champ Andrew Hines remains in third, 91 points back.

Western New York

Lancaster National: Nostalgia Drags, Saturday and Sunday, check for details. Stock cars-off.

Holland Speedway: George Decker Pro Modified Memorial 100, S5 p.m. Saturday.

Ransomville Speedway: Patriot Sprint Tour, 7:15 p.m. Friday, Alex Friesen Big Block Modified Series Summer Nationals 100, 7:15 p.m. Tuesday.

Freedom Motorsports Park: 360 Late Model Special, 7:30 p.m. Friday.

Merrittville Speedway: King of the Crates Sportsman, 7 p.m. Saturday, Bob St. Amand Sr. Memorial Big Block Modified Series

Humberstone Speedway: All Canadian Championships, Sunday, time trials, noon; racing, 6:30 p.m.

Raceway 5: Dirt Track Stock Cars, 6 p.m. Saturday.

Wyoming County: Smash-n-Crash Junkyard Soccer, 7 p.m. Saturday.

Empire Dragway: Quick 32 Sportsman Series/Pro Bike & Sleds Series, Saturday and Sunday. Consult