Share this article

print logo

Jones, Morgan lead track finalists

NCAA shot put champion Jonathan Jones (Portville) and University at Buffalo teammate Mike Morgan are two of the three finalists for the Donald J. Paige Award which will be presented by the Niagara Track & Field Hall of Fame on Sept. 12 in Rochester. Morgan competed in the decathlon in the NCAA championships.

The Paige Award is presented annually to the NCAA Division I College Male Athlete of the Year from the Niagara Association. The third finalist is middle distance runner Jesse Garn of Binghamton University. Garn is from Marcellus.

Hurdler Jazmin Dunham of Buffalo State is one of three finalists for the Jack Tupper Daniels Award for Female College Athlete of the Year from other than NCAA Division I. Throwers Colin Blair (Lancaster) and Sam Wray (Starpoint) are finalists for the Trenton J. Jackson Award as the Male High School Athlete of the Year. Jumper McKyla Brooks (Frontier) is a finalist for the Cynthia J. Wyatt Award as the Female High School Athlete of the Year. Brian Lombardo (Sweet Home) and Walter and Marty McLaughlin (East Aurora) are finalists for the Bob Ivory Award as High School Coach of the Year.