Share this article

print logo

Federal grants awarded to Cattaraugus, Erie county fire departments

Four fire departments in Cattaraugus and Erie counties have been awarded a combined $329,309 in federal grants to upgrade and improved their operations from the Federal Department of Homeland Security’s Assistance to Firefighters Grant Program, U.S. Senators Charles E. Schumer and Kirsten Gillibrand announced Monday.

In Cattaraugus County, the Farmersville Volunteer Fire Department will receive $86,056 to pay for the purchase of at least a dozen new self-contained breathing apparatuses, or air packs, and the Village of Delevan Fire Department will receive $35,058 to improve operations and department safety programs.

In Erie County, the Angola Fire Department will receive $132,381 for operational and department safety program improvements and upgrades and the West Seneca Fire District #4 will get $75,814 to purchase ten new air packs.