Share this article

print logo

Starting Line for July 23

Sprint Cup

Event: Crown Royal Presents the Jeff Kyle 400 at The Brickyard at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

TV: 1:30 p.m. Sunday, NBCSN.

Then And now: Jeff Gordon won a record fifth Brickyard 400 last year, calling it one of the most special wins of his long Sprint Cup career. This Sunday marks Gordon’s 23rd and final Brickyard 400, as he retires as a driver at the end of this season. Perhaps the only way Gordon can top last year’s win is to do so for a sixth time, which, given the fact he has yet to win a race this season, would likely put him into his final Chase for the Sprint Cup, as well. ... Also keep your eye out for Jimmie Johnson, who has won four times at Indianapolis. And what about Tony Stewart, who has suffered through his most miserable start to a season in his career in 2015? Stewart has not won a race in more than two years. To do so at Indianapolis, where he has won the Brickyard twice previously, would help salvage his poor start and also likely put him into the Chase. ... Kyle Busch won Sunday’s race at New Hampshire, his second win in a row and third victory in the last four races. Busch is now only 58 points out of the top 30 in the Sprint Cup standings. He has to be in 30th place or higher by the end of the final Chase qualifying race at Richmond in September to make the 16-driver playoff. ... Kevin Harvick remains atop the point standings, holding a 69-point lead over Joey Logano and a 79-point margin over Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jimmie Johnson, who was tied for second with Logano heading into Loudon last week, fell to fourth place, 88 points back, while Martin Truex Jr. is fifth (106 points back).


Event: Lilly Diabetes 250, Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

TV: 3:15 p.m. Saturday, NBCSN.

Then And now: Ty Dillon is the defending winner of the Xfinity race at IMS, the third time the series has raced at the fabled and legendary track. Kyle Busch won the 2013 race, while Brad Keselowski won the 2012 race. The race was previously held at nearby Lucas Oil Raceway. ... Denny Hamlin held off a late run by Austin Dillon to take last week’s Lakes Region 200 Xfinity Series race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. ... Chris Buescher remains atop the Xfinity points standings, holding a 31-point edge over Chase Elliott. Ty Dillon remains in third place (38 points back). ... Saturday’s race is the fourth of a stretch of 16 consecutive weeks of racing for Xfinity Series drivers before the final off-weekend of the season in October.


Event: The series is off this weekend.

Then And now: Ryan Hunter-Reay earned a huge win in last Saturday night’s Iowa Corn 300 at Iowa Speedway in Newton, Iowa. Josef Newgarden finished second, followed by rookie Sage Karam, Graham Rahal and fifth-place finisher Carlos Munoz. ... Points leader Juan Pablo Montoya suffered his worst race of the season, finishing last in the 24-car field after being involved in a crash on Lap 10 of the 300-lap event. ... Three races remain on the schedule: one oval (Pocono) and two road courses (Mid- Ohio and the season finale in Sonoma). Mid-Ohio hosts the next race, the Honda Indy 200, on Sunday, Aug. 2. ... As he has since the first race of the season (which he won in St. Petersburg, Fla.), Montoya remains No. 1 in the point standings despite his wreck at Iowa. However, his lead slipped as a result. Montoya entered Iowa with a 54-point lead over Scott Dixon, but left there with just a 42-point edge over second-ranked Graham Rahal, and a 48-point margin over Dixon, who fell to third place after Iowa. Helio Castroneves is fourth (minus-54) and Will Power is in fifth (minus-55).


Event: Mopar Mile-High Nationals, Morrison, Colo. , July 24-26.

TV: Qualifying, 11 p.m. to 1 a.m. Saturday ESPN2; Final eliminations, Sunday, July 26, final rounds of eliminations, 9 p.m. to 12 a.m. Sunday, ESPN2.

Then And now: After a weekend off, the NHRA begins its vaunted “Western Swing,” with three consecutive races in as many weeks, starting with this weekend in Morrison, Colo., followed by Sonoma (Calif.) and Kent (suburban Seattle), Wash. ... This will be the 14th race on the 24-race NHRA national event schedule. ... J.R. Todd (Top Fuel), Robert Hight (Funny Car), Allen Johnson (Pro Stock) and Andrew Hines (Pro Stock Motorcycle) are defending winners. ... The winners in the last race, the Lucas Oil Route 66 Nationals on July 12 in Joliet, Ill., were Tony Schumacher (Top Fuel), Tommy Johnson Jr. (Funny Car), Allen Johnson (Pro Stock) and Hector Arana Jr. (Pro Stock Motorcycle). ... Schumacher leads the Top Fuel standings. Teammate Antron Brown is No. 2 (minus-20) and Larry Dixon is No. 3 (minus-180). ... In Funny Car, Matt Hagan leads Ron Capps by 178 points, Jack Beckman and Del Worsham are tied for third place, 189 points behind Hagan. ... In Pro Stock, Greg Anderson leads defending champion Erica Enders by 66 points and third-ranked Jason Line by 214 points. ... In Pro Stock Motorcycle, Eddie Krawiec holds a 16-point lead over Hector Arana Jr., while defending series champ Andrew Hines remains in third, 48 points back.

Formula One

Event: Grand Prix of Hungary, Hungaroring, 8 a.m. Sunday, CNBC.

Last Race: Lewis Hamilton won for the fifth time in nine F1 races at the British Brand Prix July 5.

Western New York

Lancaster National: IHRA Drag Racing Bike Night, 7 p.m. Friday; Stock Cars - Tommy Agen Street Stock Memorial, 6:30 p.m. Saturday.

Holland Speedway: Kwik Fill Night, free admission through participating locations, 7 p.m. Saturday.

Ransomville Speedway: Stock Cars plus Ladies Race, 7:15 p.m. Friday.

Freedom Motorsports Park: Stock Car Weekly Show, 7:30 p.m. Friday.

Merrittville Speedway: Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series, 7 p.m. Saturday.

Humberstone Speedway: Autograph Night, 6:30 p.m. Sunday.

Raceway 5: Crate Late Model 30 Fair Special, Tonight, 6 p.m. Saturday.

Wyoming County: Racer Reunion Celebration, 7 p.m. Saturday.

Empire Dragway: Gold Cup Nostalgia Weekend, Friday through Sunday. Consult