Share this article

print logo

Rush off to Saskatoon

The Edmonton Rush won’t be able to have a banner-raising ceremony in Alberta next winter. The current National Lacrosse League champion is moving to Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

Team owner Bruce Urban announced Monday that the franchise will be moved to Saskatoon starting in 2016. The action has been approved by the league’s board of governors.

“This is a day of mixed emotions as we are very excited about what is to come in Saskatchewan, but at the same time, we are saddened to leave our outstanding Edmonton fans,” said Urban.

The Rush had trouble selling tickets throughout their tenure in Edmonton, ranking near the bottom of the league in attendance. The team also was unable to agree to a long-term lease for arena use.

The Rush won the championship last season, defeating Toronto in the final. The team, which will keep its nickname, will play out of the SaskTel Centre. The facility seats 15,100.