Share this article

print logo

Several local track stars selected

NCAA shot put champion Jonathan Jones (Portville) of the University at Buffalo is among several Western New York athletes named semifinalists for annual awards presented by the Niagara Track & Field Hall of Fame. Jones and UB decathlete Mike Morgan are semifinalists for the Donald J. Paige Award which goes to the outstanding NCAA Division I Male Athlete of the Year from the Niagara Association.

Other semifinalists announced Monday are:

Doriane Lambelet Award (NCAA Division I Female Athlete of the year), Megan Manley and Emma Siuciak of UB; Jack Tupper Daniels Award (Female Athlete of the Year from other than NCAA Division I colleges), Jazmin Dunham, Jazlyn Porter (Niagara Falls) and Sasa Vann of Buffalo State and Jacquelin Huben (Clarence) of Geneseo State; Trenton J. Jackson Award (Male High School Athlete of the Year), state discus champion Sam Wray of Starpoint, state discus runner-up Colin Blair of Lancaster and middle-distance runner Anthony Hawthorne of Niagara Falls; Cynthia J. Wyatt Award (Female High School Athlete of the Year), state long-jump champion and triple-jump runner-up McKyla Brooks of Frontier and state pentathlon runner-up Tiana Luton of Sweet Home; Bob Ivory Award (High School Coach of the Year), Brian Lombardo of Sweet Home and Walt and Marty McLaughlin of East Aurora.