Share this article

print logo

D’Angelo named superintendent of Maryvale Schools

Maryvale has a new face coming to the District Office.

Joseph R. D’Angelo, who has been principal of Maryvale Primary School for the past five years, will take over as district superintendent as of Sept. 1.

D’Angelo and a second internal candidate were interviewed by a committee of community stakeholders and the Board of Education last month. The name of the other hopeful was not released.

D’Angelo began his career teaching third grade in Niagara Falls. He also taught high school social studies before becoming a teacher on special assignment in the Niagara Falls School District Central Office.

Other administrative roles he has held include dean of students at Gaskill Middle School in Niagara Falls and assistant principal at Maryvale High School.

He chose education as a career to make a positive difference in the lives of students. His commitment to Maryvale prompted him to apply for the superintendent post.

Among his goals are collaborating with stakeholders to continue to improve the district, rebuilding the district in terms of instructional and non-instructional programs and ensuring that students leave the district prepared and competitive for whatever paths they choose, he said.

“I believe in our students, our community and our staff,” he said. “Maryvale is a great district that has a proud past and a bright future.”

Superintendent Deborah Ziolkowski announced in May that she is stepping down after almost six years at the helm to spend more time with her family.

During the School Board’s reorganizational meeting Monday night, newcomer Brian Pilarski, who won a seat during the May 19 School Board election, took the oath of office. Another newcomer, Trustee Cindy Strong, was sworn in immediately after her victory in May because she won the seat left vacant when Julianne Renczkowski resigned in March.

Margaret Bourdette, who has been a trustee for about a dozen years, was elected board president, while Patty Keller, who has been with the board for four years, was named vice president.

The board’s next meeting will be held at 6 p.m. Aug. 3, in the boardroom at the Samuel R. Bennett Building, 1050 Maryvale Drive, Cheektowaga.