Share this article

print logo

O’Callaghan, Thompson set to join state scholastic softball hall

Two Western New Yorkers will be inducted into the New York State High School Softball Hall of Fame at a ceremony in Herkimer on Saturday.

Sue O’Callaghan was a four-year starter for Niagara Falls High School from 1975-79. She went on to play at Erie Community College and Indiana University.

Meg Thompson was a four-sport athlete at Wilson, playing field hockey, volleyball and basketball along with excelling at softball. She led Wilson to the Section VI championship in 1986, when the team won the state title, and in 1987, when the team was state runner-up. Thompson then played at Canisius College.

O’Callaghan and Thompson are the two latest inductees from Section VI. They join previously inducted Larry Lash (coach at Wilson and North Tonawanda), Tom Murphy, (coach at North Tonawanda), Kim Frizzell (North Tonawanda), Pam Amabile (Frontier) and Pete Scott (coach at Depew).