Share this article

print logo

Williamsville voter turnout low as all officials are re-elected

Voters in Williamsville – all 154 of them – re-elected their mayor Tuesday along with two trustees and the village justice, all of whom were unopposed.

Mayor Brian J. Kulpa, who won his second four-year term, received 141 votes, and Trustees Daniel O. DeLano and John A. “Al” Yates Jr. each received 142. DeLano and Yates were re-elected to four-year terms.

Also winning re-election was Village Justice Jeffrey F. Voelkl, who received 148 votes.

The four candidates ran as a slate on the Harmony Party line.

A total of 154 votes were cast in Tuesday’s village election, or just 3 percent of the total population of Williamsville. Turnout is typically low in Williamsville elections, but Tuesday’s was even lower than usual. Four years ago, 212 voters turned out.

Village elections are usually held in March, but in 1996, voters in Williamsville agreed to change the date to the third Tuesday in June. Better weather, supporters argued at the time, makes it easier for the candidates to campaign – and for residents to get to the polls.