Share this article

print logo

Niagara Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

Celebrating the 120th anniversary of providing continuous service to the community, Family & Children’s Service of Niagara will present several awards at its annual luncheon meeting on Thursday at the Niagara Falls Country Club, 505 Mountain View Drive, Lewiston.

Clementine Laverman will receive the E. Marie Davis Volunteer Service Award. A member of the board of directors since 2004, she has served on the executive committee and as chair of the agency’s program operations committee. Laverman is retiring from Niagara University, where she served as the chair of the Department of Social Work for many years.

Susan Vogt will be presented with the Staff Leadership Award. Vogt, a resident of Lockport, has been with the agency since 2006 and is currently a supervisor in the care management program.

Anthony Seymore will receive the Courage to Change Award, which is presented to a client who has faced challenges, overcome obstacles and is a positive role model for others facing similar challenges.

Judie Glaser, community relations director for the Niagara Falls School District, will receive the Kozak Community Service Award. Glaser is being recognized for her role as the community relations director for the district, specifically for her leadership on projects that focus on strengthening families.

The Martha H. Beeman and Judge William L. Kellick Endowment Fund will receive the Legacy Builder Award in recognition of the fund’s on-going support of the Family & Children’s work with youth in the community. The award will be accepted by Joan Kellick.

William B. May of Lockport and Peggy Addoms of Niagara Falls will be recognized for their support of and commitment to the agency’s work in the community strengthening children, adults and families in need.


Master Sgt. Sue Clark, a North Tonawanda resident, was recognized as a New York “Woman of Distinction” during a ceremony at the Legislative Office Building in Albany. Clark was personally selected by State Sen. Rob Ortt, R-North Tonawanda, for her contributions to making the community better and serving as an example to others.

Clark enlisted in the U.S. Air Force in 1980 and then joined the Air National Guard in 1993. She has traveled both nationally and internationally, performing duties as a Morse code operator, information manager and civil service technician.

She moved to Western New York in 2008, and later worked at the Niagara Falls Air Reserve Station as the 107th Airlift Wing commander’s executive assistant for four years. Her most recent mission was in Iraq supporting Operation Iraqi Freedom.


North Tonawanda native Debra A. Kosko was named trustee by the North Tonawanda History Museum at its recent board meeting. A North Carolina resident, she has completed the probationary period required for new trustees of the museum since 2008.

Kosko, a 1975 graduate of North Tonawanda High School, is a clinical associate professor in the Department of Graduate Nursing Science at East Carolina University in Greenville, N.C. She also has a faculty practice at Raleigh Infectious Diseases Associates in Raleigh.

The board also named Britt A. White as a member of the advisory committee. Before being named to replace retiring Margaret A. Waite as director of the North Tonawanda Public Library, White spent 11 years with the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library System, including time as a reference librarian at the Central Branch, as a city branch manager, system teen services coordinator, and in supervising acquisition and processing of serials. He served as a school librarian at Buffalo Seminary for two years and also served as an adjunct instructor for the University of Buffalo Graduate School of Education, Department of Library and Information Studies.

The board also accepted Brenda Booth and Tracy Lauffer as probationary trustees.


Special recognition was given to the following for their contributions and support at the 154th Lockport Family YMCA annual meeting and recognition dinner held last month at Terry’s Corners Volunteer Fire Company.

Fire companies of Eastern Niagara were recognized by Executive Director Mark Albiez for furthering the Y’s mission. Volunteer fire companies honored were: Lockport City Fire Department, Barker, Cambria, Gasport, Hartland, Middleport, Miller Hose, Olcott, Rapids, South Lockport, South Wilson, Terry’s Corners, Wright’s Corners and Wilson.

The YMCA Capital Campaign Volunteer of the Year was awarded to Paul Reid, president and chief executive officer of Reid Petroleum, for his commitment and dedication to the vision and future of the Y campaign to raise the investment from the community required to make the new YMCA project a reality.

The YMCA Camp Kenan Impact Award went to Mike Landers of Howell Motors Ford. The award is presented to an individual or organization that has gone above and beyond to positively impact the camp community. Landers and Howell Motors Ford have been supporters of Camp Happiness, one of the Y’s specialty camps. Camp Happiness is a week-long day camp for individuals with mental and physical challenges and disabilities.

Anikka Buck received the 2014-2015 Teen Leader of the Year Award. She serves as the Lockport Teen Leaders Club historian.

Gina Artieri, a YMCA swimmer, was presented with the William J. Smith Memorial Award for her outstanding ability, sportsmanship and character.

Staff members Samantha Mussari, Tammy Holzman and Elisa Schneider were recognized for their service and commitment to the Y.

Kathy Mullin, lifeguard and aquatic instructor, was recognized for 30 years of service and Laurie Ferris, youth director, was recognized for 25 years of service.