Share this article

print logo

Starting Line for May 21

Verizon IndyCar

Event: Indianapolis 500, Indianapolis Motor Speedway; Speedway, Ind.

TV: Sunday, noon, ABC.

Then and now: One more to go to 100 – Sunday will mark the 99th running of the so-called Greatest Spectacle in Racing at the legendary 2.5-mile Brickyard. ... Ryan Hunter-Reay is the defending champion, but Helio Castroneves is going to have quite a bit of attention as he looks to become only the fourth driver in history to win the Indy 500 four times. The others are Rick Mears, Al Unser and AJ Foyt. ... Canadian driver James Hinchcliffe, who suffered critical injuries in a crash during practice on Monday, was released from Intensive Care on Wednesday. Hinchcliffe suffered injuries to his pelvic area and upper thigh. Ryan Briscoe will replace Hinchcliffe in the race. It’s uncertain how long Hinchcliffe will miss while recovering, but it would not be out of the question if he misses the remainder of the 2015 IndyCar season (11 races are left). ... Juan Pablo Montoya remains atop the IndyCar points standings. Montoya leads Will Power by five points and Castroneves by 10 points. All three drivers are with Team Penske. ... Scott Dixon won the pole at Indy last weekend, ending a streak of pole positions in the last eight consecutive races (the first five this season and the last three of 2014) by Team Penske.

Sprint Cup

Event: Coca-Cola 600, Charlotte (Concord, N.C.) Motor Speedway

TV: FOX, Sunday, 5:16 p.m. start.

Then and now: Jimmie Johnson won last year’s race and also at Dover, which is up next on the schedule (May 31). Johnson is a seven-time winner on Charlotte’s 1.5-mile high-banked oval and has led 1,733 career laps at this track, almost double the closest driver. ... Johnson is third in the Sprint Cup standings, 48 points behind leader Kevin Harvick and two points behind second-place Martin Truex Jr. Harvick won the fall race at Charlotte last season and was the runner-up in last week’s All-Star show in Charlotte. The No. 41 car driven by Kurt Busch had the fastest five- and 10-consecutive-lap averages on this track in his lone practice last week before the All-Star race.


Event: Hisense 300, Charlotte Motor Speedway; Charlotte, N.C.

TV: Saturday, 2:30 p.m., Fox Sports 1.

Then and now: The undercard to the Sunday’s main event typically is an extension of the Coca-Cola 600 when it comes to winners. In the last 12 Xfinity races on the Memorial Day weekend, 11 have been won by Sprint Cup regulars. Kyle Busch has the most wins (five). Another Kyle, Kyle Larson, won the race last season. ... Heading into the race, Chris Buescher is the new points leader, having taken the top spot by virtue of winning at Iowa Speedway this past Sunday. Former points leader Ty Dillon slipped to second place in the standings (minus-8), followed by defending series champ Chase Elliott (minus-31), Darrell Wallace Jr. (minus-37) and Brian Scott (minus-42).

Formula One

Event: Grand Prix of Monaco, Circuit de Monaco.

TV: Sunday, 7:30 a.m., NBCSN.

Last Event: Niko Rosberg won the Spanish Grand Prix at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya May 10, winning by more than 17 seconds over his Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton, who had won three of the previous four races.

Camping World Truck

Next Event: Lucas Oil 200, Friday, May 29, 5:30 p.m., Dover (Del.) International Speedway.

Western New York

Lancaster National: IHRA Drag Racing-TNT Hot Rods, Friday 7 p.m.; Stock Cars- Off Week.

Holland Speedway: 56th NASCAR Whelen Opening Day, Saturday, 5 p.m.

Ransomville Speedway: $3,000-to-win 358 Modified 50, Friday, 7:15 p.m.

Little Valley: $3,000-to-win Super Late Models; plus $1,558-to-win 360 Late Model Mike Duclon Memorial, Sunday, 6:30 p.m.

Freedom Motorsports Park: AIR MX Weekend, Friday-Sunday. Consult for details.

Merrittville Speedway: Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Humberstone Speedway: Street Stock Duel On Dirt, Sunday, 6:30 p.m.

Raceway 5: Gene Dewitt Street Stock Memorial, Saturday, 6 p.m.

Stateline Speedway: Patriot Sprint Tour, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Wyoming County: Super Stock 50, Saturday, 7 p.m.

Empire Dragway: 4.70 Thunder, Saturday, 5 p.m.