Share this article

print logo

10 school districts approve budgets in Niagara County

Voters approved budgets in all 10 school districts in Niagara County on Tuesday, while incumbents lost in at least two of the county’s districts, according to unofficial results released Tuesday night. Only six school districts saw races that had competition.

Eight of the 10 districts in the county had proposed some type of tax increase, with only Newfane and North Tonawanda promising to hold the line on taxes.


• Voters approved a budget that will raise the tax rate $.32 per $1,000 in assessed value.

• In a four-way race for three School Board seats, incumbent Randall “Randy” Atwater, Virginia Voss and Candice Gancasz were the winners.


• Taxes will rise by 3 percent in Lewiston-Porter after voters approved a $41.7 million spending plan.

• In a five-way race, incumbent Michael Skowronski, Cindy Duke and Marcia Dorian won the three open seats.


• A $90.87 million budget that increases the tax levy by 2.03 percent gained approval from voters, 737 to 308. Tax rates won’t be finalized until the summer.

• Three incumbents ran unopposed for three board seats.


• Nearly 81 percent of voters approved a $33 million budget that carries no tax rate increase.

• Two candidates, Laura Licht and Cheryl Wentland, ran unopposed for two board seats after incumbents James Reineke and Kelly Artieri did not seek re-election.

Niagara Falls

With all election districts reporting, voters approved a $133.6 million budget, 1,236-561, providing the supermajority needed for it to pass.

In a three-way race for two seats, incumbents Kevin A. Dobbs and Russell J. Petrozzi were re-elected with 1,199 and 1,109 votes respectively. Challenger Colene A. Melson got 960 votes.

Niagara Wheatfield

• Voters approved a $67.96 million budget that will see the tax levy rise by 2.2 percent. Residential and commercial tax rates in the four towns that make up the district will rise by varying amounts, from $.07 to $1.61.

• Incumbents Richard A. Sirianni and Steven L. Sabo ran unopposed.

North Tonawanda

• In a six-way race for four School Board seats, incumbent Dorothy Kuebler was knocked off. The winners were incumbent Cheryl McMahon, Colleen Angelhow, Michele Golding and John Zloty.

• A budget proposal passed that included no increase in the district’s tax rate.


• Nearly 79 percent of voters approved a $22.9 million spending plan, according to unofficial results. The spending plan includes an estimated tax-rate increase of $.47.

• Two newcomers, Carrie Choate and Chad Owen, ran unopposed for two board seats. Two incumbents, Patricia Riegle and Sandra Hoerner, did not seek re-election.


• Voters approved a $49.4 million budget projected to raise full-value tax rates by 1.07 percent.

• Incumbent Gregory Saraf lost his seat, with Anthony Perez and James Colton and incumbent Mark Ewart picking up the three open seats.


• Voters approved a $24.9 million budget that raised the tax levy by 1.8 percent.

• The School Board race saw incumbent Christopher Carlin and challenger Linda Hurley win seats in a five-way competition.